Jacking up a floor

Old 01-17-15, 07:32 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jacking up a floor

I Name:  floor drop.jpg
Views: 713
Size:  34.1 KB

My house was added on to at one time and the added foundation has sunk 1.5 inches over 12 feet. I want to lift the joists with a beam and add another plate on the foundation wall to bring it up the 1.5 inches. I can't afford to have someone jack up the entire foundation but I'm wondering if lifting the house off the foundation with a beam and bottle jacks is a bad idea. Fortunately the joists are going in the direction I need them to. The house was built in 1949 and is single-story. 2x8 24 OC with shiplap. Poured concrete foundation. There is a bathroom in the addition with water supply lines in the attic. There is a cast iron stack in the crawlspace also. I will be remodeling this entire area of the house and considered shimming the floor on top of the ship lap but the ceiling would still be sloping. That seems even hokier. I am a carpenter and have some experience jacking up small areas of floors. The addition has foundation wall on all 4 sides. Any advice? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-17-15, 10:06 PM
If you are serious about this kind of lifting, you should consider renting some serious movers' jacks (they are heavy, screw-types) instead of trying to use bottle jacks. Is it just the exterior wall on the right of the sketch that needs lifting? A few pix of what you're looking at would be helpful, too, if you want additional suggestions (of the exterior, in the crawl, etc.).

Old 01-17-15, 10:30 PM
Group Moderator
Received 382 Votes on 359 Posts
Pictures of the top of the wall and joist area would be helpful. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html

You're also going to have to custom shim the entire plate to foundation. You are lifting up the right hand side which will leave from 0 to 1-1/2".

Name:  lift.jpg
Views: 334
Size:  9.7 KB

Old 01-18-15, 03:49 AM
Received 26 Votes on 24 Posts