Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Basements, Attics and Crawl Spaces
Reload this Page >

How to on making closed basement staircase into an open half wall??

How to on making closed basement staircase into an open half wall??


  #1  
Old 01-04-16, 01:21 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to on making closed basement staircase into an open half wall??

I have been searching all over and cant find any step by step instructions on how to do this. I basically have a closed in stairway with drywall from top to bottom but would like to open up the bottom to look like this below. Nothing crazy and no expensive Banister or anything. Just something to open it up a little.
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 01-04-16, 01:30 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,082
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
A lot depends on how the wall and above is framed. Not sure if there is a good way to tell without removing the drywall on one side and getting a look see.
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-16, 02:06 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The one side is not drywalled yet. Will take pics tonight
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-16, 04:06 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,065
Received 901 Votes on 827 Posts
The half wall will wobble (if not right away... it will eventually) unless you put a tension device on the studs that make up the end of the wall. I would probably suggest you drill a 5/8" hole in the concrete then epoxy a long 1/2" threaded rod into that hole. Once the epoxy has completely set and cured, put a Simpson lateral tension device over the rod, and nut and washer both sides of the device. Screw the bracket to upper side of the stud first using all available holes. Tighten the top nut first. Then bottom nut last.

Drill the hole about 2 1/4" away from your end stud... and plan on adding a stud to fill in some of the space.
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-16, 04:56 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of the wall.....
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 01-05-16, 05:42 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,065
Received 901 Votes on 827 Posts
Here is a picture of the anchor I was referring to. DTT2Z

 
  #7  
Old 01-05-16, 07:06 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
What's not clear from your pic is if the studs that make up the wall are load bearing, meaning if they are holding up a beam or other supporting structure above. From the built up post near the right of your picture it looks like there might be a beam above. Can you give us a shot or two that shows the framing in the ceiling above the stair opening and to the left of the stair opening?
 
  #8  
Old 01-05-16, 11:16 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will get those pics tonight. I don't believe it is. Its a townhouse that has a metal post and I-Beam running perpendicular to the steps.
 
  #9  
Old 01-05-16, 11:33 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,630
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Do you plan to move the switch box or just re-route the cables going into it?
 
  #10  
Old 01-05-16, 12:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I left myself enough yellow wire to move the switches and the other two wires would be moved in the direction they are are going to so they will have enough slack. Here is what i am thinking. Excuse my poor paint skills at work......
 
Attached Images  
  #11  
Old 01-06-16, 05:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: