Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Basements, Attics and Crawl Spaces
Reload this Page >

Attic/crawlspace access of a cross-gable type roof

Old 06-27-16, 11:48 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hello, all -

I'm a long-time "lurker" and consumer of advice and browsing on the forum, and first-time post. I'm a very beginner type when to the major projects I read in this forum, so my opinion and expertise is severely limited.

So - my post...
My home is a cross-gable type roof, very similar to the image here:

For reference, due to my lack of terminology, looking from left-to-right, I'll reference the left-side of the roof drawing as "roof side-A" and the right-side of the roof drawing as "roof side-B". As you can see roof side-A intersects with roof side-B and develops a valley down the roof, where it seems that roof side-B extends from roof side-A...

::sigh:: again, i'll apologize now for the poor terminology used, as I'm sure it's poor.

Here's my situation :
My attic access is in roof side-A. What I'm seeing when I'm in the attic is that the home-builder seemed to fully build/assemble the roof side-A laying plywood along the length of this side of the roof and THEN start the construction on roof side-B. This makes it seem that from my attic access point, I cannot access the attic/crawlspace of roof side-B.

I have a DIY attic/whole-house fan installed pulling air from roof side-A, specifically in attempt to cool roof side-B of the house, since that is where most of the sun hits, and (IMO) seemingly heats up the most. Roof side-B is the most difficult side to cool down via house fan or A/C system.

In the end, I'd like to access roof side-B for several reasons (to allow the attic/wholehouse fan to push air out from this side of the attic space, future potential to access this crawlspace to make improvements, etc)

So some questions I have:
1. any suggestions on how to get into roof side-B?