Small basement upgrade....ideas for a ceiling

Old 10-22-16, 07:41 AM
Received 3 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Small basement upgrade....ideas for a ceiling

I purchase my home in June and this is my first project. Decided to take my grandparents up on their offer of a free pool table. Past two weeks I have been scraping and wire brushing the walls and organizing the clutter. Bought new shelving etc. Also repainted it which I kept the same color. Eventually will be putting a wall up on the one side of the main support "I" beam to make it a room so to speak with a door that goes to the work bench and laundry area.

Question: Is there an easy ceiling covering to give it a more finished look? Something that is easy to put up and take down if wiring needs run etc? There are water pipes and a couple electrical lines that are on the floor joists and I do not want to do the whole drop down ceiling thing. The area with the bikes and the chest freezer is where I am putting the pool table. Name:  IMG_1950.jpg
Views: 1750
Size:  30.8 KB

Old 10-22-16, 08:08 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
A drop ceiling is easy to install, inexpensive and makes it real easy to open up for access in the future. The big drawback is that it will eat up about 6" of headroom. If you've got 9' ceiling height in your basement I'd consider it but with a pool table you want as much ceiling height as possible to avoid cursing and blue dots on the ceiling.

Another option is vinyl soffit. It will eat up less than an inch of ceiling height and will be easy to wipe off chalk dots. If you put it up with screws it can be removed sorta easy but it will be a big enough job that you're not going to want to do it very often.

Old 10-22-16, 08:20 AM