Basement Finishing Double Top Plate

Old 01-13-17, 09:53 PM
J
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Basement Finishing Double Top Plate

I live in Minnesota so need to follow code for here.

Code does not require a double top plate on non load bearing walls. My basement does have sheetrock installed in ceiling already for code and fire block. I want to frame and leave that there so I don't need to do another fire block.

My wall height with the drywall there is 8'4" so I have 8' studs, if I do a double top plate I need to cut every stud down 1/2 inch. if I don't do a double top plate, I need to streach the board by 1"...

So how do I install a double top plate. a 3" nail won't go through both plates, AND the floor joists above... do I nail one plate in, then just nail the 2nd plate to that first plate??

Sorry, I am very new to this. this will be my first framing project ever. So please don't start out with "you should hire a pro" I do want to learn, and I do want to do it myself. I get a lot of satisfaction out of it...

Old 01-14-17, 01:10 AM
Upvotes: 0
Yes, just nail the two plates separately.

Old 01-14-17, 03:31 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
This is a DIY forum, and we are the pros you hired, so we are glad to help you get things done right and efficiently. I agree with Brian that nailing or screwing the plates in independently with 3" fasteners is your only choice. If you find yourself running parallel to the floor joists above and not being able to attach the plates to anything but air, just install nailers between the joists at 16 or 24" intervals to provide a substantial nailing point.

Old 01-14-17, 02:12 PM
J