Dehumidifier on separate circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-29-17, 11:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dehumidifier on separate circuit?

Hi everyone. I'm taking estimates to install a central dehumidifier for my basement. So far I have four estimates and the latest one just mentioned running a separate circuit to run the dehumidifier on.

There is the blower/heater in the basement and the other estimates all said that they would tie into the existing line(the heater is gas). Is this normal or is it something that just adds cost?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-29-17, 12:21 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 46 Votes on 43 Posts
It would depend to me how much load was on the existing line being proposed and how much space is in the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-17, 03:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,525
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
The dehumidifier basically amounts to a small air conditioner. Your furnace is more than likely on a 15A circuit so it may be large enough to run the dehumidifier.

There will be a plate on the unit with it's electrical requirements.
If you don't have the unit... you post the make and model and I can check on it.
 
  #4  
Old 08-29-17, 08:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The model looks like it's a Diamond 80. Model number G/UA024SA
 
  #5  
Old 08-29-17, 08:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,525
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Diamond 80 is the furnace.
It only draws a few amps.

The model number needed is for the humidifier.
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-17, 05:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The quotes are all for the Ultra-Aire 100V, or the Aprilaire Model 1850.

is Aprilaire any good?
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-17, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,525
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Aprilaire makes quality products. I'm not intimately familiar with that model.

The 1850 requires 8A of power. If your furnace is on it's own circuit..... it can be shared with the dehumidifier.
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-17, 11:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the information. Santa Fe returned my call and theirs uses 6.3 amps. I guess that is ok as well?
 

Last edited by diy_in_atl; 08-30-17 at 11:49 AM. Reason: More information
  #9  
Old 08-30-17, 11:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,525
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Yes.... both can share with the furnace circuit.
 
  #10  
Old 08-30-17, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I thought. The offers I'm getting are really running the gamut, there's literally a 2k difference in price. For the same hardware. The pricier one is saying they're going to run a separate circuit, install a drip pan, an emergency cutoff, tie into our existing air system, etc. It sounds though like the same basic thing that the other offers have.
 
  #11  
Old 08-30-17, 04:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,525
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
That type of dehumidifier is good if you don't have central air. Is that the case ?
Normally central air will combat a lot of the moisture and a self contained unit in the basement removes additional humidity down there.

If the basement is fixed up.... an overflow drip pan is a good idea. Safety shutoff too. The additional circuit should not be needed.
 
  #12  
Old 08-30-17, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's good to know. We're planning to put it in line with the existing system. There's a large amount of the basement that is finished, but there's also a good bit that is not finished at all. The existing blower et al is in the unfinished section.
 
  #13  
Old 09-01-17, 12:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK The dust has settled and the rates are between 2500 and 5000. The difference seems to be in name only, I've heard Honeywell and also Aprilaire as the two units offered. What is the opinion on these?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: