bike chain repair

Old 05-10-10, 11:45 AM
bike chain repair

My bicycle chain broke. So I thought I'd try to fix it by myself, which I've never tried before. I bought a new replacement chain and the chain tool. I read online how to measure for correct length for replacement, and was able to remove a section of links to shorten the new chain to the right length, although since messing around I will need to add one link to the length again. Here's a few pictures of the new chain and the parts that came with the new chain and the tool. At this point I'm totally stumped and don't seem to understand how to put the chain back together. The directions on the repair/tool packages don't seem to help, I'm confused. I would appreciate any help from someone who could explain the remaining steps so I might be able to accomplish this.
http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/b...ull1/001-1.jpg
http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/b...ull1/002-1.jpg

Sponsored Links
Old 05-10-10, 05:11 PM
Group Moderator
Which part is causing you trouble? Is it how to assemble the master link?

I found several videos online by searching for "master link chain" and selecting videos.

Old 05-10-10, 06:06 PM
Hi sgull,
First, is this a multi-speed bike with one of those multi-sprocketed clusters on the rear wheel? Or a single speed bike with one sprocket in front and one in the rear. They use different width chains and are not interchangeable, although, the parts you show seem to be both the old master link style and the 10-speed style which presses together.

Check to see what it said on the package, ie 1/2" by 1/8" or 1/2" by 3/32" and let us know what the bike is.

Came back to be sure I was thinking correctly, but couldn't find the post under bicycles, it's under motorcycles. Is this a bike or a bicycle? .

Bud

Last edited by Bud9051; 05-10-10 at 06:25 PM. Reason: addition
Old 05-10-10, 06:39 PM
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post