Continuous Loop Curtain Cord

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-06, 01:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Continuous Loop Curtain Cord

I have Honeycomb blinds in my Study and, the continuous loop cord has separated. I have tried to find info on how to repair this but it seems that the only answer is to send the shade back to the manufacturer.

This is an expensive solution. Does anyone out there have any idea as to how I can repair this continuous loop cord by myself?

The ends of the loop looks as though they were originally glued together. Would anyone know what kind of glue that was and where I can find it?

I appreciate any help in this matter.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-06, 05:36 PM
BLD
BLD is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 220
Those are linked together by melting the two ends together.. heat up both ends till they start to melt and then fuse the two together.. Give it about 5 seconds and then roll the fused part between your fingers to smooth it out..

If done right and not melted too much you shouldnt have to roll out your rope to a smooth finish..
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-08, 08:09 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oldsmar, florida, usa
Posts: 44
I tried it, mine wouldn't go past the stiff welded together part of the cord. It's a very wide window - 7 ft - takes some force to raise the blind, and when I squeezed the lump down to fit it broke every time.

I'm getting a longer cord, looping nearly to the floor. Then I'll put it on the pulley/sprocket so when the blinds are all the way down the weld is just outside the sprocket, and that way it wont hit the sprocket when they are pulled all the way up.

But if its that long an alternative would be to forget the loop and just put two pull ends on the cut cord.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-08, 08:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 16
Can you just get a new cord from the blind manufacturer and replace it yourself? If you know how to take the blind down, the piece that the cord wraps around should be fairly easily accessable and it may be just a case of pulling off a cover to expose the part the string goes through.
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-08, 04:12 PM
BLD
BLD is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 220
yes

but the lady on the phone may mention to ya it can be repaired on site..

melt the ends with indirect heat from a lighter to avoid black marks from the lighter
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-08, 06:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 5
You dont have to send the shade back to the manufacturer.
All you need to do is give the size of your Loop Cord and Color and your are done.
After receiving, take the shade down, I assume it is a Honeycomb shade.
You just have to slide off the Cover on the side of the Loop Cord and it quite easy to change to the new cord.
Piece of cake
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-08, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Can you tell me how to put the cord back on the shade? We have new cellular shades with continuous cords. The cord on the wide shade just fell off the shade tonight. It is still circular, continuous, but how do I get it back on the shade? Thanks for any details you can give me.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'