Converting vertical blind rod to a traverse rod

Old 11-03-07, 09:06 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Converting vertical blind rod to a traverse rod

Hi,

This is my first time asking a question here. Last night I was watching a do-it-yourself TV program where they were redoing a room. They said you could remove the vanes from a vertical rod and use the existing rod as a traverse rod. They then made curtains and showed them in the final look at the room. They neglected to tell us how to attach the curtains to the hanging "thingies" on the rod. Do you have to purchase something that would adapt the curtains to the rod? Have you ever heard of this? I think it's a great concept, so I hope someone out there has an answer to this.

Thanks in advance.

Arline

Old 11-03-07, 09:21 AM
Super Moderator
Received 391 Upvotes on 319 Posts
Never heard of this and I'd have to see it to understand what's involved, but my guess would be they used drapery pins, the same as if they were being attached to a traverse rod.

Old 11-03-07, 09:34 AM
A
I thought of that, but there are no holes in the "thingies" to receive them.

Old 11-03-07, 09:59 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
How are the current vanes attached to the rod?

Old 11-03-07, 10:41 AM
A
There is a small hole at the top of the vane. You push it up into the clip and it snaps in.

Old 11-03-07, 11:07 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
That's what I thought. Don't know how you're going to do this, but you're going to have to use those clips to attach - Shadeladie's drapery pins will probably fit in the space allowed for the portion of the vane above the slot.

Old 11-03-07, 01:20 PM
A
Thanks. I didn't think of that. If I use the control to rotate the clip and face the space toward me, the hooks might slip in. Then I would have to find a way to lock the clips in the front facing position so the curtains hang correctly. It's worth a try.