Sizing up your window shades

Old 11-18-08, 12:03 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Sizing up your window shades

I'm moving into a new house soon and need to put in window shades for the windows. This might sound like a dumb question - and it might be one, too - but can someone please tell me how am I supposed to properly size up the window so I get the right size window shade.

For example, the width of one window is 70cm (28 inches). Does this mean that should be the width of the window shade, or do I need to measure the width of the window ledge?

As you might tell, I'm a novice - if that - at these things, so any help/tips would be most appreciative!

Thanks

Old 11-18-08, 12:31 PM
K
It's not a dumb question as there is a lot of misinformation out there when it comes to sizing shutters and blinds.

First question I have is by blind do you mean wood blind / mini blind or do you mean a louvered shutter? Different people mean different things by "blinds" so I just want to make sure we are talking about the same thing.

As far as sizing really what you want to do first is look at your window opening and decide what you would like to see the blind cover. By that I mean do you want the blind to fit just within the frame of your window, maybe cover your window frame...or something else entirely.

Once you know that, you will need to know how the blind will mount to your opening. If you can tell me what you are thinking of when you say "blind" I can help you from here.

Jim

Old 11-18-08, 01:03 PM
S
Hi Jim,

Thanks for replying so quickly and offering help! I really appreciate it!!!

By blinds I mean the actual window shade - e.g., venitian blinds, roller blinds, etc. - I haven't decided yet what I'll do yet.

The windows are mostly sliding windows (side-to-side), but there are a few narrow (28 inches) windows that open inwards like a door.