Pull cord about to break on Hunter Douglas blind


  #1  
Old 02-15-19, 05:55 PM
RocketJSquirrel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
Pull cord about to break on Hunter Douglas window shade

I have a Hunter Douglas "Silhouette" window shade which is controlled by a pull cord. The cord has developed a weak spot which looks like it's about to break.


Is there any DIY remedy for this, or do I need to call a pro? (My first impulse was white electrical tape, but I doubt that would work.)


Excuse the grainy low-light photo. But I think you can see what's going on.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by RocketJSquirrel; 02-15-19 at 06:11 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-15-19, 06:10 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,628
Received 158 Votes on 125 Posts
It would have to be restrung with a new cord. There's no way to fix it. The problem is, that's an old way of stringing and it's no longer compliant because of child safety laws, so they'd probably have to completely redo it. Not sure how much that would cost.
I think you have to go thru a Hunter Douglas dealer for this.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-19, 06:13 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,028
Received 894 Votes on 820 Posts
First thing I would recommend is to go to your local Hunter Douglas dealer. They can either get you the parts, or do the repairs for you if you want to take the blind in.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=x8pJR3-g1jI
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-19, 06:38 PM
RocketJSquirrel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
Thanks for the replies. Are these cord loops a standard length? Or, as I suspect, is each one made custom for each installation?
 
  #5  
Old 02-15-19, 06:42 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,028
Received 894 Votes on 820 Posts
They come in preset increments... don't know exactly. Aftermarket parts are available on Amazon. Pretty easy to google them. 3 ft loop, 4 ft loop, 5 ft loop, 6 ft loop, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 02-15-19, 06:54 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,628
Received 158 Votes on 125 Posts
What do you mean by cord loops?
When I used to make shades everything was custom.
 
  #7  
Old 02-15-19, 06:56 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,028
Received 894 Votes on 820 Posts
It's a continuous cord loop. (circle)
 
  #8  
Old 02-16-19, 05:54 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,628
Received 158 Votes on 125 Posts
If you're thinking of repairing yourself, I think I'd contact Hunter Douglas and go thru them to make sure you get the right product. They'd also send instructions. You'd need to know whose headrail they used on your shade to get the right product if ordering from anyone else.
 
  #9  
Old 02-16-19, 08:46 AM
J
Member In Good Standing
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 159
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe hunter douglas has lifetime warranty to the original buyer. They always provided me with all parts for free. They sent lots of cord and I just restrung them.
 
  #10  
Old 02-16-19, 10:42 AM
RocketJSquirrel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
I've had the opposite experience with HD. In my experience, they refuse to deal with end users, period. I had to get my designer to accompany me to the HD factory showroom even to look at their stuff. When I had a problem with a broken shade (which I had bought through the designer), HD would not deal with me and I had to find a random retailer to act as intermediary.


In this case, I'm not the original buyer; the shades were in the home when I bought it. I don't know who installed them. So I doubt I'll have any luck with HD.
 
  #11  
Old 02-16-19, 10:51 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,628
Received 158 Votes on 125 Posts
Yeah, they're strictly to the trade only. However, if you can find a dealer, they may be able to have it fixed for you. May not be cheap tho.
Another alternative may be to just buy a new one. There's cheaper shades around than HD.
 
  #12  
Old 02-16-19, 11:45 AM
RocketJSquirrel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
If I replaced the shade, I'd have to replace the identical one next to it.


I did find a local shop which repairs shades, and I have a call in to them.



Thanks for the replies.
 
  #13  
Old 02-17-19, 04:15 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,007
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Read XSleeper's posts above. Here is the cord you need:https://smile.amazon.com/True-Choice...as+shade+parts
 
RocketJSquirrel voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: