Problem hanging blinds

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-20, 10:55 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem hanging blinds

I am trying to hang a set of blinds. I have one bracket on the left screwed into the wall tight but the other on the right is giving me trouble. I don't have anything to screw into apparently. I looked behind the wall and all the only thing to screw into is vinal siding. I got the bracket on the wall but it's obviously loose and won't hold the blinds. If I use the middle support bracket, it looks like it might screw into a stud. Will that be enough or do I have to still find a way to secure that right bracket? Any ideas are helpful.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-20, 11:02 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,033
Received 234 Votes on 209 Posts
There should be a solid piece of wood on both side of the window. Show us picture.
These are blinds being installed on the outside of the window frame vs on the inside of the frame?
I would rather screw a 1 x or 1 x 2 above he window against the wall and then screw the blind bracket to that.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-20, 11:30 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I forgot to mention it's a closet i'm trying hang the blinds over and the blinds are so wide that I guess one side extends past the stud on the side i'm having the issue. The blinds don't fit inside the frame or this would already be done. But this closet is part of an addition to the main house and the garage was added to this later. So the wall between the addition and the garage has the siding on it. I have access to the siding and i'm guessing I would have to pull it back and put something there to screw into. What do you think?
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-20, 12:15 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,027
Received 679 Votes on 628 Posts
If the siding isn't going anywhere just screw it into the siding. You might need a shim so it lays flat.

if you will be tearing the siding off then yes, remove the siding and put a horizontal 2x4 there to screw to.
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-20, 12:59 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might do that. Or I might get drywall anchors and screw the brackets into them. Thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: