Fluctuating psi in a gas boiler

Old 03-29-04, 10:15 AM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest
Fluctuating psi in a gas boiler

The psi will go as high as 30 and as low as 12-15. When it gets up I bleed off water from the expansion tank and it drops back down to the 12-15 range after bleeding off only a gallon of water. Then after a few days it is right back up to 30 psi. any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-04, 11:16 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check the expansion tank. Is the blader good or the tank full of water . Do you get water out of the air schrader there on the tank.Is the auto water fill letting the water in there on you? Could turn off the water to the auto fill for a day or so and see if thats it.

ED

Old 03-29-04, 11:45 AM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest
First and foremost thanks for the reply. Second...I am a novice so please bare with me. Where would the air schrader be on the tank?

The tank is a solid, no window to tell if it is full and it is mounted to the basement ceiling. There is basically a spiggot on the bottom. Would it be safe to attempt to empty it to see if the water ever stops coming out? If it does not stop I guess that would point to the bad auto water fill?

I estimate this sucker to be 35 - 40 gallons so it could take a while to empty it.

When you refernce shuting off the auto water fill...would that be to the boiler as a whole or somewhere else?

Thanks again!

Old 03-29-04, 12:09 PM
When you refernce shuting off the auto water fill...would that be to the boiler as a whole
There should be like a water line that goes to the boiler. it has a shut off in it and goes on into a bell like looking thing. Green red, gold . This should be the auto fill for the boiler so try and shut the water off to it and see if this will stop the fill. Is there a shut off in the line to that expansion tank. That you can shut off and drain the tank??????? ED

Old 03-29-04, 12:27 PM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest