Aquastat adjustment

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-04, 11:22 AM
B
banjobj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Aquastat adjustment

I recently disconnected my aquastat ( Honeywell L4080 B) to Super store indirect water heater and when I reconnected it won't work. I thought I had a bad aquastat but you can jump it out and it works fine. Did I mess up the adjustment on the aquastat? Any help would be appreciated. I can't get the darn unit to close and the directions from Honeywell are useless.
 

Last edited by banjobj; 06-08-04 at 11:23 AM. Reason: spelling error
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-11-04, 07:12 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If there are only 2 terminals on it there isn't much you could have done wrong. The temperature setting is self-explanatory so that should not be a factor either. The control could be defective. You don't say why you disconnected it, or whether it is running line voltage or low voltage but there is no reason disconnecting and reconnecting it should cause a problem. If the sensing bulb is in the well and the water is cold, and jumping the control calls for reheat, the control must be defective.

Ken
 
  #3  
Old 06-11-04, 08:35 PM
B
banjobj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Auqastat adjustment.

Thanks for the reply. I replaced the aquastat, as it was defective.
 
  #4  
Old 12-24-07, 10:00 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bump from the past, and Merry Christmas all!!!

I have a question along these lines....

Sometimes my indirect (Crown MegaStor) will "run out" of hot water, when little hot water has been used. I go down to the basement, and find the aquastat requesting heat, and the boiler obliging. But it will be a little while (~30 min) before the zone is satisfied.

In order to debug whether it's the bulb or aquastat that is faulty (aquastat was replaced ~2 years ago) I'd like to replace the aquastat with a model that tells me what the bulb water temperature is. So, if I see that the bulb is 100f and the 'stat is not requesting heat, I know it's the 'stat. If the zone says 130f and everything out of the tap is cold, I know it's the bulb.

Anybody hear of such a thing? Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 12-25-07, 06:58 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Aquastat

Having a MegaStor myself, I doubt the aquastat is the problem but more likely a dirty heat exchanger coil. To clean, drain the indirect, remove the domed cap on top, & use a garden hose to wash the exteriror of the coil.

Is the indirect on a priority zone & if so, is the priority function working? Another problem could be the circulator. The "whine" could indicate a problem with the circulator. Does the burner cycle off for a long period during the call for hot water?

I don't know if anyone makes a digital single function aquastat or not.
 
  #6  
Old 12-25-07, 09:12 AM
X
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 2,459
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
tekmar 150 would work for this. $$$.
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-07, 05:09 AM
rbeck's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,472
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Is this a new or existing problem?
 
  #8  
Old 12-26-07, 07:30 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

Yes, it's a priority zone. I imagine it could be the circulator intermittently failing...but it seems to be be running OK when I go down (but that could just be the system circulator pushing the water through). I watch the return temp drop on my OR (It's a Tekmar 260). Probably 3-5 minutes between boiler recycles). I will keep poking my head downstairs to see if priority is working...but I don't think that would be it...first time it happened, it was a couple months ago, prior to heavy heating season.

And yes, it's a new problem. First happened a couple months ago, now again. Megastor is ~4 years old, with one new aquastat last year (thing just wouldn't call for heat at all).

Now I was just thinking....could be a sticky zone valve which eventually rights itself. Yeah, I know- horrible idea to have a zone valve on an indirect- it's just temporary. I drew up the boiler piping and controls myself (using Dan Holohan's books as my major reference) and had a steamfitter come in and do the piping. Come heating season, I notice superheated hot water. Turns out he had piped the DHW supplya after the system circulator, instead of before, in a attempt to separate/prioritize the DHW zone, with the return way down close to the boiler, on the other side of the p/s loop. {In fairness, it was his introduction to p/s and pumping away...I didn't catch it, either, on the mods he made to my original drawings} So come heating season, whenever a heating zone called for heat, the system circulator sent boiler water through the megastor, whether it wanted it or not. Our simple ("temporary") solution was to add a zone valve into the DHW loop, so it only allowed flow when that zone wanted it. Will definitely put repiping of that zone on the hot list once heating season is over.

EDIT: The Tekmar looks promising, but as you said, a little pricey @ $150. I wonder if there's some kind of sensor display I could run parallel with the honeywell aquastat to display the measured temp....
 
  #9  
Old 12-27-07, 07:44 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by buckyswider View Post
Thanks for the replies.


EDIT: The Tekmar looks promising, but as you said, a little pricey @ $150. I wonder if there's some kind of sensor display I could run parallel with the honeywell aquastat to display the measured temp....
Try the AZEL - DS-60P , it's a fantastic little tool. Two sensors so you can measure supply and return. Plus, it will record max and min temperatures.

http://www.accentshopping.com/product.asp/P_ID/149655
 
  #10  
Old 12-22-08, 04:47 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pa.
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm having a problem and was told mt aquastat was out of adjustment or defective. When I set me thermostat to 60 the furnace runs every 10 minutes and the heat in the room reaches 75 to 80 degrees. How are these tested and what adjustments are made? I was told you could damage the furnace if not done right. Man it's hot in here now.........
 
  #11  
Old 12-22-08, 06:07 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Aquastat

I don't believe the problem to be the aquastat but rather the thermostat. When the room reaches the thermostat setting the heat should stop.
 
  #12  
Old 12-22-08, 06:31 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pa.
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The woman thought it controller the water heat and set both dials to 180. What should the high anf low be set at? Thermostat was replaced and had the same problem as she did her adjustment before I changed the stat.
 
  #13  
Old 12-22-08, 06:52 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Dials

There should be at least a 20º difference between the Hi & Lo settings. Often they are set 160 Lo & 180 Hi.

Some pictures of the boiler & controls would help.
 
  #14  
Old 12-22-08, 07:30 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pa.
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's a pic. Really hope it helps.
 
  #15  
Old 12-23-08, 02:57 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Picture(s)

Sorry I couldn't see any picture. The easiest way for us to view pictures is for you to post them on photobucket.com or similar photo hosting site then provide a link here.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: