New basement radiators

Old 11-23-04, 09:34 PM
toobusy
Visiting Guest
New basement radiators

Hi. My first time here. I used to be an HVAC engineer, so I somewhat understand this, but don't profess to have much of a clue on what is going on.

I'm almost finished remodeling basement. In summer, all my hot water pipes in basement were replaced (copper) and tucked up into floor joists. 2 story house w/ cast iron radiators. I had the option to zone, but chose not too, mainly because I thought not worthwile to have zones east & west, each having part of 1st and 2nd floors. Anyway, not the point.
System has two main loops off boiler, and runs in parallell. On each loop, I had a basement cast iron added (purchased used). Both were tested and seemed to be working fine. Now that it is cold, system is running. One of the basement radiators is getting good and warm (not totally, however, even with all air bled out). The East radiator is ice cold. Tried bleeding and draining through spigot on return end of radiator. Contractor came today - not sure what he did yet, but still ice cold. Supply to radiator is about 6 1/2 ft below run in floor joists. there is no bleeder valve at top of verticle run to radiator. Should there have been? Any suggestions on how to get the water to flow to this radiator. Thanks.

Old 11-24-04, 05:34 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Welcome to the DIY Forum

If you have the supply piping running overhead, and then dropping down to the basement cast iron radiators, you probably have an air lock in the piping, at the highest point. I would try installing bleeder valves at the highest point in the overhead supply piping.

Old 11-24-04, 03:45 PM
Wink

Like wise You have to have a bleeder at the top there. Any where you could trap air put a bleeder.

ED

Old 11-26-04, 07:37 AM
Ken Greene
Visiting Guest