Circulator pump runs 5 secs, shuts off

Old 02-12-05, 09:03 PM
BobRob
Visiting Guest
Circulator pump runs 5 secs, shuts off

This is my first time here. I've sen a lot of good advice, soI though I'd give it a try.

I've got a 2-zone Hydrotherm gas-fired boiler with a B&G Series 100 circulator. WIth the thermostats calling for heat, the boiler maintains the set temp of 190deg, but the circulator comes on for 3-5 secs, then shuts off for a couple of minutes, comes back on again, etc. The only heat I'm getting in the house now is from passive circulation. But it's getting colder!!

I checked all the valves and switches in the electrical control box, but still have the problem. When I bypassed the control box and connected the circulator directly to 120V, still have it. Does this mean the circulator is bad? Could anything else with water, air, or pressure cause this? If I have to replace the circulator, what do you recommend?

Looking forward to your advice.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-05, 06:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think you have a bad motor. Touch it and see. It will be too hot to touch if it is bad. The cost of that motor is more than a complete Taco 007 circulator but it is easier to replace that motor than the whole pump. What it is doing is going off on high temp overload because of some internal electrical problem. It is common with those motors. You could turn off the power and move the coupling with a screwdriver to make sure the pump shaft isn't so tight that it is overloading the motor. Usually when those pumps get tight they squeal so I doubt that is happening to you but it is worth a check before buying a motor.

Ken

Old 02-13-05, 02:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts