Taco Zone Valves

Old 03-07-05, 02:09 AM
David M.
Visiting Guest
Taco Zone Valves

Hi!
I'm a newbie with boiler controls, so I hope you can bear with me as I explain my problem.
I decided to help a friend of mine re-pipe her home boiler. She had a new unit installed about 4 months ago by a very shady contractor who has since disappeared who was actually recommended to her by a realtor (another story in itself). She already shelled out over 2 grand to have the job done, and did'nt have anymore to redo it (estimates of a re-install by several different contractors ranged from 1400$ to over 2,000$). I decided to help redo it at no charge until she can take the bozo to court and get her $$ back since he refuses to come back and do it right. The Municipal inspectors wrote up a sheet on it, and told us it's OK for me to redo it as long as I'm not charging her and it's done right. Long story short, incredibly, he did everything backwards....and I mean everything. I'm rather new to boilers, but I do have alot of plumbing experience and coupled with what I do know about them it was obvious the boiler was not plumbed correctly. The pump was on the supply side, the main water feed was dumping into the top vent tap instead of teed into at the return tap on bottom, the purge valves were on the supply side as well, on and on, and the pipes were all running at odd angles, etc. Part of the problems this system was experiencing was a strange lack of temp control over the loops...it was either fire or ice. You had to set the t-stat up to about 90 for the loop to get hot, and if you set it below that you better get the blankets out. I assumed this was due to the piping and the pump being on supply side, etc. Anyway, I ripped it all out, being careful NOT to mess up the wiring anywhere. I did'nt actually un-wire a thing except of course the zone valve heads. I re-used the bodies by un-sweating them and inserting them back where I wanted them in my new supply manifold.