Getting boiler back on-line

Old 09-26-05, 06:23 AM
jcyr
Visiting Guest
Getting boiler back on-line

Recently, I removed one of the baseboards in my kitchen and had to reconnect hot-water lines to re-complete the system. I purged the system completely when doing this. Unfortunately, I am a rookie at this sort of thing and did not realize that I could have only purged that particular zone. In each zone (2 total) I have at least 1 air valve built into an elbow joint and have been using them to remove air from the lines. Is there a better way to do this? Also, my boiler PSI is at 0 so when I turn on the thermostat to have it call for heat, the boiler heats up very quickly then shuts itself down in about a minute due to reaching the temp set point.

I have an expansion tank and the air pressure in the tank is 0 also. Do I just add air back into the tank to bring the boiler pressure back up , or is there another way to bring the boiler pressure up as well?

Once the air pressure is up, what is the best way to ensure that I have removed all the air from the system (I have a Telydyne Laars JVC 75 gas boiler)?

Help!!!

Thanks
jcyr

Last edited by jcyr; 09-26-05 at 07:47 AM. Reason: update...
Sponsored Links
Old 09-27-05, 05:56 AM
jcyr
Visiting Guest
Question boiler pressure at 0..help!

All,

I have a problem with my hot water heating system...I drained the entire system to remove one of my baseboards in my kitchen. I have been trying to re-fill the system, but am not sure that I am doing correctly. I only have about 5psi in my expansion tank, and have read in my ops manual and on this site that it should be 12. Can I just add air directly into the expansion tank to bring it up to 12psi? My boiler pressure is reading 0. How do I increase the boiler pressure? I cannot find anything in the lines that resembles anything that would increase pressure in the boiler nor can I find anything in the operation manual. I have a Teledyne Laars JVT 75 Gas fired boiler.

thanks

J cyr