time to get the boiler up and running


  #1  
Old 09-29-05, 05:36 PM
JTW4462
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy time to get the boiler up and running

OK, last year i was having a problem with my prv popping constantly. It was the end of the saeson and i didn't need heat anymore so I just shut the system off. well when I shut it down I noticed the drain valve was also leaking so i drained the system. The intention was to fix it over the summer but that never happened. I figure i can go pick up a drain calve for a few bucks and a prv for a few more and swap them out. I figure the leak is what was causing the presure to get goofy. I mean if water was leaking out air had to have been getting in also. What i need to know is what is the correct procedure for refilling and bleeding the system.

It is a Hydrotherm boiler (HC-145C-P)... Has an expansion tank and no bleeders on the baseboards....3 zones....

Need any other info?


Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-05, 06:04 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Purging air

On the piping coming back to the boiler, there should be one or more purge tee's. Each tee should have a valve with a garden hose connection & a shut off valve between it & the boiler. To purge the air, turn on one thermostat, close the shut off valve, connect a hose to the hose bib, & open the open the hose bib. Allow water to flow until you no longer get air. Repeat for each zone.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-05, 06:25 PM
JTW4462
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The only thing between my purge valves and my boiler are the zone vlaves. Is this correct?


Here is a pic to see what i am talking about.. http://pictureposter.allbrand.nu/pic...J/100_0731.JPG
 

Last edited by JTW4462; 09-29-05 at 06:50 PM.
  #4  
Old 09-29-05, 07:11 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Valve locations

If you can host some pics on Yahoo or elsewhere & provide a link it would be a big help.
 
  #5  
Old 09-30-05, 03:44 AM
JTW4462
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
can you not see the link i posted? or do you want more pics?
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-05, 04:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Red face Blind as a bat

Sorry 'bout that. I did not even see the link until you reminded me.
That is a strangely configured system. I would suggest purging one loop at a time until you get no more air. Next, try one thermostat at a time making sure to give the system time to circulate. If you have any functioning automatic air vents, it/they should take care of any remaining air. Let me know how things go.
 
  #7  
Old 10-02-05, 07:29 PM
JTW4462
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well I think I got it... at least one zone.

I let it run for a few hours after I bled the one zone and everything seemed pretty quite. 2 more zones to go. I will prolly do them tomorrow or tuesday when I get a chance.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: