Bunch of questions - pick one or takle all - HELP HELP

Old 10-12-05, 05:18 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bunch of questions - pick one or takle all - HELP HELP

I just bought a Biasi B10 series B3 boiler that I plan to install myself. I worked for a plumber (my uncle) for a few years, but never did a boiler install (did many forced hot air systems). I consider myself a good mechanic and am good with copper. I was an electrician for many years so the controls will not be a problem. My weakness is lack of knowledge about piping (order, sizing, ect.). I would GREATLY appreciate it if my questions were answered.

1. the old oil burner was fed by copper tubing run along the basement floor - YUCH!!! Sick of stepping on it. Can I run the new oil feed overhead or does the burner depend on gravity to get it's oil? The tanks are in the basement as well.

2. the old system had the circ. pumps on the return side. Is this correct? I have seen drawings (on the net) with the pumps on the supply side.

3. I will have 3 zones ( dom. hot water, 1st floor and 2nd floor). The salesman at the supply house said something about putting the DHW on the priority but I do not understand this. Please explain.

4. I bought an expansion tank. Should this be teed off of the supply side? Where does the back flow fit in?

5. Where the hec is the cold water feed to this boiler?? My instructions show the supply tapping, return tapping, boiler drain tapping, press/temp gauge tapping, Hi limit tapping and PRV tapping, but NO cold water feed. ?????

6. What should I use at boiler tappings for seal? teflon tape? pipe dope? Do most of you use copper direct out of the boiler? In other words should I get two 1 and 1/2" male adapters for the supply and return tappings?

Is there any place that I can find a piping schematic/ crash course that pertains to my questions??