Radiators not bleeding and water pressure is low

Old 10-14-05, 05:40 AM
Adrian Dams
Visiting Guest
Radiators not bleeding and water pressure is low

I am new to water heating systems, so please excuse any dumb sounding questions.

I have a three storey house and this summer some work was done on it that entailed radiators being removed. As a result, I now have to fill them all up.

I have turned on the water pump and immediately notice that the water pressure is a lot lower than normal. Normally, it sat at around 100KPa but now it is reading 50KPA (9PSI). What is the likely cause of this?

Thinking that it might be because the system is full of air, I started bleeding radiators. Initially I bled the ground floor radiators (and they are now full of water) and then realised that I should be starting at the top of the house and moving down. Is this correct?

So, I went up to the attic and opened the bleeding valve on the radiator up there. It pushed air for a while and then stopped (actually, I'm not that certain it pushed air - it may have sucked air). Since then, whenever I go and open the valve to see if it has any more air to push, there is nothing at all - no air coming out or air going in.

How do I move forward on this? Any ideas will be very welcome.

Adrian

Old 10-14-05, 02:23 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Low pressure

Locate the feed line to the boiler. Somewhere in that line is likely a device with a bell shape or at least a domed top. The top will have a screw or bolt sticking thru it. This is the feed valve (pressure reducing valve). It can be any color but most are gold or red. Make sure any valves in that line are open. If they are, & the pressure is still low, loosen the lock nut on the top of the reducing valve & turn the screw in 1/2 turn at a time allowing a couple minutes between adjustments. Check the pressure gauge between adjustments.

Old 10-16-05, 09:06 AM
Adrian Dams
Visiting Guest