Boiler/Transformer/Thermostat

Old 10-24-05, 05:49 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler/Transformer/Thermostat

Hi,

When I tried to fire up the boiler for my hot water baseboard heating system, all I got was a hot transformer. I cut off the power to the system when I first noticed a 'burning' smell near the boiler. The smell turned out to be from the transformer, which also was pretty hot. My guess is that it's fried, the question is why?

The only thing that has changed since last heating season is the addition of an electronic set-back thermostat. I suppose it's possible that I wired the new thermostat incorrectly. Could this cause the transformer to overheat and fry itself? I've double checked the thermostat wiring and it seems to be OK, but I'm not an expert.

The transformer has two primary wires that connect to the regular 120v electrical system and I believe it's supposed to be outputting 24 volts on the other side. After it cooked itself I turned the circuit breaker back on and used a multimeter to check for 24 volts on the transformer's terminals. There was no reading at all.

Will replacing the transformer solve my problems, or should I expect the next tranformer to also get cooked since the problem is elsewhere.

Please let me know if there's more information needed.

It's getting cold here in NJ and I sure could use some heat in the house!

Thanks,

Dave

Old 10-24-05, 07:05 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Fried transformer

It is entirely possible the thermostat wiring fried the transformer. Is this boiler gas or oil fired & what does the transformer power? When you replace the transformer, put a 5 amp automotive fuse in line on the low voltage side. It could save you another transformer. Since you live in N.J., I presume you also have A/C. Does the same thermostat control both the heat & A/C? If so, you need to make sure the jumper between Rh & Rc on the stat is removed.

Old 10-24-05, 07:27 PM
N
Grady,

Thanks for the reply.