MPI FCX condensing oil fired boiler

Old 11-26-05, 03:30 PM
scs987
Visiting Guest
MPI FCX condensing oil fired boiler

Anyone have experience with the Monitor Products Inc. FCX oil-fired condensing boiler? It boasts a 92-97% efficiency rating according to energy star site, which seems to be the highest I can find for oil-fired. A page on a local dealer's site states: "Manufacturer suggested list price plus installation (will vary depending on plumbing and venting options): $ 4,250". Any thoughts?

Old 11-26-05, 03:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Monitor

I have no experience with thier boiler but I do with the direct vent space heaters. When they work, they work well, but are very expensive to repair.
I also would be very leary of any oil fired condensing anything.

Old 11-26-05, 04:02 PM
scs987
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by Grady
I also would be very leary of any oil fired condensing anything.
Why be leary of this?

Any comments on the approximate cost ompared to regular FHW systems?

Old 11-26-05, 04:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
90+ oil

The condensing oil fired furnaces which were sold a few years ago were terrible about plugging up.

The equipment cost seems quite high. Often I sell & install equipment for less than the cost of that equipment alone.

Old 11-26-05, 06:40 PM
scs987
Visiting Guest
Viessmann

Seems Viessmann has two models of this type as well. What's the general take on Viessmann equipment? Also, their literature lists 'standard efficiency up to 104%' - how does this translate to US efficiency measurement? Not that it matters too much, since the Viessmann USA site doesn't list it as a product that would be available here, but I am still curious.

On a different note: is it at all sensible to be looking at oil-fired condensing technology over 'regular' oil fired (I have no natural gas available, so my only other option would be propane)

Old 11-27-05, 04:54 AM
U
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts