Weil McClain boiler

Old 11-29-05, 08:37 AM
Ross Bentz
Visiting Guest
Weil McClain boiler

I've got a Weil McClain hot water system in my house...circa 1986...over the past couple weeks, I've found that the boiler cycles off and then never comes back on regardless of the thermostats. I have 3 zones plus a hot water tank with a thermostat and none of them seem to be turning the boiler back on. We woke and found the house in the low 50s the other day. I tried turning up each of the thermostas but the oil burner did not fire. I manually depressed the relay in the Aquastat and the boiler fired up and ran fine for the rest of the day. It reaches the correct temperatures in each of the zones and then shuts off. I make my living troubleshooting electrical circuits and I've done some work on industrial boiler systems but I'm looking for a little insight into the intricacies of this type of boiler. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Old 11-29-05, 10:29 AM
Ross Bentz
Visiting Guest
more details

So I was thinking about the aquastat and its function...the low temp is set at 120 and the high temp is set at 190...my expectation is that when the system is turned on, the boiler should maintain a temperature between these two points...then, when a thermostat calls for heat, a circulating pump should switch on and send hot water to the zone in need...cooler returning water should force the boiler to continue heating and maintain the temp dictated by the aquastat...

In my system, however, I find that the boiler temp goes all the way down to room temperature and the aquastat never turns on the burner until I manually push the relay...my thought is that the aquastat is bad or some component of it...unless, of course, my system is not set up to "maintain"

Old 11-29-05, 03:31 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Aquastat