gurgling hydronic zone

Old 02-03-06, 11:31 AM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
gurgling hydronic zone

Good afternoon! On the second floor of my house (zone 2) the hydronic radiator pipes gurgle and heat poorly. Takes 5 to 10 minutes after the circulator starts to warm the pipes. I also notice that when the circulator is on and water is flowing through the zone (I can hear the gurgling and feel the pipe get warm), if I open the "bleed" valve I get a few bubbles but water never shoots out, even if I leave the valve open for 10 minutes or more. (I'm no expert but it seems water should eventually come out of the bleed valve if the water is circulating.) System pressure shows 20-25 psi at the furnace, with 40psi domestic from the mains.

Zone 1 (first floor) never has this problem.

Can someone diagnose the zone 2 poor heating situation from this and recommend my next step? Thanks!

Tom

Old 02-03-06, 02:23 PM
Who
Received 2 Upvotes on 1 Post
How accurate is your pressure gauge? If you have 20-25psi and you open a bleed valve, water is going to be coming out unless somehow that circuit has been closed off. Bizarre...

Is that an auto-vent you are calling a bleeder valve? If so, it is designed to only let air escape - not water. Is there air trapped further on in the branch that you aren't successfully purging?

Old 02-03-06, 02:50 PM
N
Hi - thanks for the reply.

I agree on the bizarre aspect!

"Is that an auto-vent you are calling a bleeder valve? If so, it is designed to only let air escape - not water. Is there air trapped further on in the branch that you aren't successfully purging?"

The "bleeder" I meant is the screw-cap on the second floor pipe; you unscrew the cap and see a small hole with a rubber washer surrounding it. The bubbles come out of the hole when I remove the cap when the circulator is running.