radiator spud broke - what now

Old 06-06-06, 02:10 PM
P
pkn
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
radiator spud broke - what now

I was trying to take out the brass radiator spud (on a cast iron rad) and in the process it broke apart leaving behind the rest inside the bushing(?). I am a novice and was attempting to follow all the previous advice on how to do this obviously difficult task. The way I did it was first was to try a spud wrench which promptly broke the tabs inside. I has used liquid wrench first. Then I took the sawzall route. Cutting the union nut and then trying several cycles of liquid wrench and the big wrench. No juice.
Then I cut three notches on the face of the spud and drove a chisel through. That seemed to work at first. Cracks appeared but when I tried to wrench it loose, a section of the spud just fell off. And then like a fool I tried to use the remaining section to wrench of again and that last piece broke off too.

So what are my options now? Do i have to scrap that rad or it can be salvaged? If I try to chisel the piece left inside will it destroy the threads on the bushing? Or is there a way to take the bushing out? Thanks folks for reading so far.

-PK

Old 06-06-06, 06:39 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Broken Radiator Spud

You have encountered Mr. Murphy, author of Murphy's Law. Sorry but I've been there & done that.
Here's something else to try before you scrap the rad or call in the pros. Use a hacksaw blade to cut a couple of grooves in the remaining spud no more than 1/6th the circumference of the spud apart. Then using a SMALL HAMMER & CHISEL (a cape chisel works best), try to cut out the area between the saw cuts. Try very hard not to gouge the threads of the rad. Repeat until you get it all out.
Another option is to drill it out & retap the threads in the rad.
Good luck & let me know how it goes.

Old 06-06-06, 07:15 PM
P
pkn
radiator spud broke