Wiring boiler


  #1  
Old 07-10-06, 04:14 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 74
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring boiler

My Oil burner has two separate circuits in my panel. Only one 110v line is connected to the burner. I am assuming the other one is for the thermostat. Is this correct and does the thermostat require its own circuit or can I wire it into another circuit or the burner circuit. This system was originally installed in 1952.

I would like to rewire the burner and Thermostat the correct way. I will replaceing the thermostat.
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-06, 06:07 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I asked some more questions in the other thread.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-06, 06:59 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat uses low voltage wiring. 110V AC goes to the boiler using 14-2 wire, then is converted to lower voltage. They are totally different wires. Never mix them up, or you are in danger. Low voltage wire is much thinner.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-06, 10:03 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Originally Posted by lzhang
Thermostat uses low voltage wiring. 110V AC goes to the boiler using 14-2 wire, then is converted to lower voltage. They are totally different wires. Never mix them up, or you are in danger. Low voltage wire is much thinner.
Not necessarily true. The power supply to the furnace may be a 120 volt, 20 ampere circuit wired with #12 wire. It could even be a 240 volt circuit, all we know is that the system dates back to 1952.

Also, while most thermostats are low-voltage, line voltage thermostats do indeed exist and a 1952 installation could very well have a line voltage thermostat.

John, please copy all the information you can find on your boiler, burner, thermostat and any parts that have wires connected and post them. Pictures are always helpful, more are better than few.
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-06, 02:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 74
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I traced the other circuit it is capped off in a box I uncovered today. The burner that's in there now was installed about 5 years ago. It's a Becket burner. The control box is a Honeywell (R8184G 4066). There is no separate transformer. I checked the thermostat terminals on the Honeywell box with a volt meter 21.1 Volts. Is this correct two low voltage wires from the thermostat to the burner. I am going to correct the wiring and remove the extra circuit. I want to install a new thermostat and replace this wiring also. Is this the best way to go or is there a better thermostat setup? I am capable of doing the wiring but I want to make sure it is correct.
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-06, 03:49 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I wrote an answer on the other thread.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: