Circulating Pump


  #1  
Old 09-15-06, 09:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Circulating Pump

Hello!

Anyone please help me with this? When I turn the oil burner on for 1 to 2 hours the house radiator is hot, but when I go to see the Circulating pump it's not running.

Is the circulating pump supposed to be on when the burner is fired? I suspect the pump is broken.

Any ideas would be appreciated,

David30
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-06, 07:42 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Circulator

The thermostat must be calling for heat in order for the circulator to run. If the thermostat is satisfied the circulator will shut off. Depending upon the aquastat you have, the circulator could also be off if the boiler temperature is below a certain point. Was the burner running when you looked at the circulator?
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-06, 01:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Circulating Pump

Hello Grady!

Thank you very much for your time you reply to my question.
What is aquastat?
Yes, the burner was running when I looked at the circulator.

This morning I go a little bit further: I disconnected the circulator wire from the control box and connect directly to the power, it runs good. So I know for sure that the circulator is still working ok.

I reconnect the circulator back to the control box, the original limit set was: Low 160F High 180F..

I turn the burner on for approximately 2 hours, I see that when the temperature goes up to the Low limit set 160F, and the thermo needle point at 30PSI the burner stop and the circulator is not running.

What should be the problem, do you have any ideas?

Thank you,

David30


________________________
Below is the information of control box & circulator:
HONEYWELL R8182 COMBINATION CONTROL
120VOLTS, 60HZ
_____________________
TACO RED BARON 110-144
5XB0013K HP 1/12
V115 PH1 A2.20
RPM 1725 HZ60 CONT
SF 1.40 SFA 2.4 AMB 40C CODEV
THERMALLY PROTECTED CLB INS PAA
_____________________
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-06, 05:39 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Aquastat/Circulator

The Honeywell R8182 is the aquastat. With the boiler up to temperature, set the thermostat well above room temperature.
If the circulator does not run, turn the "Low" dial down to aprox 140. If the circulator still does not come on some more troubleshooting is in order but let's cross that bridge when we come to it.
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-06, 11:51 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wink Ciculator

Hello Grady!

I see what you mean. Today I turn the burner on again following your advices, The limit set Low 160F High 180F. The burner run until the temperature of the boiler reached low 160F then the burner stop.

At this point I still don't see the circulator run, I dial down the Low limit set to 140F, but the circulator stay still.
I think something must be wrong with the aquastat. Do you have an advices for me? what do you think?

I really appreciate your advice,

David30
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-06, 05:08 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Circulator

To eliminate the thermostat or wiring as a possible source of trouble, take a small piece of wire (a paper clip will do) & place a jumper between the terminals marked T & T on the aquastat. If the circulator now runs the problem is either the thermostat or wiring. If the circulator still does not run you need a new aquastat.
 
  #7  
Old 09-18-06, 07:20 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Circulator

Dear Grady,

I tried to jump between T&T terminal, but the circulator still don't run.

I need to replace the aquastat, Do you know any places where I can buy the aquastat from? I look around in my area of where I live, noone carry that kind of R8182?

Thank you very much for your help,

David30
 
  #8  
Old 09-18-06, 05:55 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,667
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
R8182

Not being one to randomly change parts, I want to recap before saying "yes the aquastat is bad". (1) The circulator will run if wired directly to power. (2) The circulator is wired to terminals C1 & C2 (may be labeled as B2/C2) on the 8182. (3) With the boiler up to temperature, the power on, & a jumper across terminals T & T on the 8182, the circulator does not run. If all of the above are correct, I feel confident in saying the aquastat is bad.


If there is a Sid Harvey in your area, they carry a line of remanufactured aquastats. I have used them with good sucesss. The reason I mention remanufactured is a new one is quite expensive. After the 8182, there should be a letter (D or H) and four more numbers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: