Mystery input water line for heat system

Old 10-16-06, 11:07 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mystery input water line for heat system

Hi All,

I am a newbie to heat systems and I am trying to understand the layout of my home's system. I have a 3-zone forced hot water system with an oil burner furnace.

I took a look at my forced hot water system and I noticed that there is a saddle valve installed on the input water supply line. This saddle valve is connected to the cold water supply by a thin, flexible copper tube. It appears that this saddle valve acts as a supplemental water supply to the closed forced hot water system.

I would like to understand what the purpose of this additional input line is. I am concerned because it looks like it is a flimsy connection to the forced hot water system. Also, more importantly, the saddle valve is installed INSIDE a backflow preventer and is directly connected to my well water tank. There is a shutoff valve in between the well water tank and the saddle valve, but if the valve is opened, I am concerned that the water from my closed hot water system might backflow into my well tank. This could present a hazard because the hot water system currently has an antifreeze compond in it (I was told Ethylene Glycol by our furnace technician).

I've put an image on my website that shows the arrangement of the input water supply line,

http://home.comcast.net/~cynergyou/watersupplynotes.JPG

Can anyone tell me what the purpose of this saddle valve and additional water supply line might be? Do you think it's advisable for me to remove this line? Should I be concerned about backflow from the forced hot water system into the well water tank?

Currently, I have the valve that connects the line and my well tank turned off, but I am concerned because it may have been on in the past.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Old 10-16-06, 05:01 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Mystery line