Failed Temperature-Pressure Gauge

Old 10-28-06, 06:17 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Failed Temperature-Pressure Gauge

I have a Weil Mclain Gold oil fired hot water boiler. It is in a new home less than 2 years old. The pressure temperature guage on the front has failed twice. By failed, I mean that fluid begins leaking through the face of the guage. The folks that install it do not seem to know the problem, or if they do, they sure haven't addressed it. I usually get some comment about it being Weil Mclain's problem and in the case of the first failure, the guauge was just replaced, and the symptom fixed, but not the problem. Weil Mclain does not seem to support consumer questions and wants you to go through their dealer netwrok for problem resolution, so I am in a bit of a qundry. I am new to the oil fired boiler world, so I thought I would see if I could get a little education and perhaps learn to deal with issues such as this on my own. All help is appreciated.

Old 10-28-06, 06:44 AM
Super Moderator
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
When you say fluid do you mean that the guage bellows fails and boiler water leaks or is it a guage that uses a damping fluid in it to prevent needle oscilation?

If the bellows leaks then vibration, over pressurizing or rapid needle oscilalation could cause premature failure.

If it uses damping fluid, often glycerine, guage vibration or a mfr defect could cause this.

Old 10-28-06, 07:16 AM
M