lost power, can't find reset button


  #1  
Old 11-07-06, 11:26 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile lost power, can't find reset button

recently lost power hot water heater did not re-heat. electric approx. l yr old. found termostat, but can't find re-set button kaymarie
 
  #2  
Old 11-08-06, 07:58 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Electric Water Heater

It should not need resetting but just in case, the reset button should be at the upper thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-06, 02:12 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
re-set hot water heater

you said the sre-set would be by the upper thermostat. the one i found was near the bottom of the heater, are there 2 thermostats?
 
  #4  
Old 11-10-06, 02:18 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

the one i found was near the bottom of the heater, are there 2 thermostats?

Im with Grady push the reset bottom. But yes on a electric hot water there are 2 tstat and the red reset button is in the top tstat. So I dont know what you have there for sure
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-06, 06:24 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Single or dual element

It is possible you have a single element water heater. If that is the case there would be only one thermostat & the reset button should be with it. Look above where you found the one for another access panel.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-06, 08:03 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
to grady

you were right re-set behind upper panel, i pushed it but it did not stay in, should it have? I'll wait to see if water heats. thank you kay
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-06, 02:50 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
You did check the circuit breaker panel to make sure no breakers are tripped ?
 
  #8  
Old 12-05-06, 06:26 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Reset Button

If the button did not stay in, you need a new thermostat & limit control.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: