Northern MN heating issue approaching critical!!

Old 12-08-06, 02:19 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry Northern MN heating issue approaching critical!!

Hello,

I live in Duluth MN, and have a heating problem that has been ongoing for a week. It has been looked at by both a plumber and the Water and Gas service department with only partial results. We just had our first night below zero, so I must get this fixed asap. I am a complete novice here, so I will do my best to describe everything.

We have a 120 year old, two story farmhouse with a full basement. The heating system is a Wells Mclein natural gas hotwater boiler with Cast iron radiators split into three zones. The zones are controlled by Honeywell Valves. Our first floor kitchen, and a bedroom directly above it is zone 3. Zone 2 is the remainder of the second floor. Zone one is the remainder of the first floor. All of the radiator supply pipes that run to the second floor are inside and exposed in the living spaces. The house is poorly insulated, and in need of new windows.

The system was inspected last year with no problems, and generally worked well last year. Before the conclusion of winter last year, I removed the old mercury thermostats and replaced them with new square non digital Honeywell thermostats, and had no problems for the remainder of the season.

Anyway, I resisted turning on the furnace for as long as I could, using some nice space heaters that seemed to work pretty well, which is why it is just in the last couple of weeks that I discovered the problem.

I finally turned it all on about a couple of weeks ago, and everything seemed ok, but the heat was real weak upstairs, even after bleeding the radiators. After a few days I came home from work and there was no heat at all upstairs, and downstairs was like chernobyl. It was about 110 degrees even though the thermostats were all set at 60.