Boiler keeps the temp UP w/o a t-stat


  #1  
Old 01-03-07, 05:47 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Boiler keeps the temp UP w/o a t-stat

Hi! first post here but surely there'll be moe as this seems like a good forum to learn from.

I've got a boiler that's 4 years old running 3 zones. One zone is the upstairs of the house. A short time ago it was noticed the temp constantly very warm even with the therostat (LUX 500) turned down or even off. Thinking it was the stat itself, I removed it completely from the wall. The furnace continues to keep the upsatairs zone very warm even with no thermostat connected. All other zones are working normally. Any suggestions?

Thanx!
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-07, 06:27 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,066
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 1 Post
It sounds like gravity migration. Do you have any flow control valves on these zones? If so, the one for upstairs may be stuck open.
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-07, 02:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here's a pic of what's there. The cartridge circulators are TACO 007-F5's.

 
  #4  
Old 01-04-07, 02:46 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I agree with the gravity flow idea.

I don't see any flo-control valves in that pic. They may be elsewhere on the system though, perhaps on the supply side of the zones... big picture might help, can you post more ?

Taco does make a 007 pump with a built-in flo-control valve. Since you have ball valves above and below each circulator, they are very easy to change out. You might think about that if it turns out that you don't have flo-control elsewhere on the system. If you _do_ have flo valves on each loop, it could be as simple as one of them being turned open. But we need more pics...

Something concerns me though... it looks like a puddle of water all around the boiler. Where's that coming from ???
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-07, 06:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here's some additional pictures:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y36/BlkHawk73/DSC02726.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y36/BlkHawk73/DSC02727.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y36/BlkHawk73/DSC02728.jpg


The water is actully some that got in via the bulkhead which is just to the immeadiate right of the furnace. Kinda left the bulkhead open while it was raining.
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-07, 06:43 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,066
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 1 Post
Picture #26 shows flow checks I think... Which one would belong to the upstairs circuit that doesn't stop heating? Can I guess the rusty one in the middle?

(I could be so out to lunch on what these even are <g>)
 
  #7  
Old 01-04-07, 07:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I do appeciate the replies. I'm pretty new to this whole arena of repairs so I'm hoping I'm not being to vague. Plumbing/electrical are NOT my areas.
 
  #8  
Old 01-04-07, 07:55 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
This should he'p ya ...

http://www.taco-hvac.com/en/products.html?current_category=183&show_faqs=1

Check this page out, one of those three flo-control valves needs a bit of TLC .

Something else that would concern me if it were mine:

See those liquid streaks on the flue pipe where it enters what appears to be your power venter ? (you don't have a chimney, right?) That could be condensation products of the flue gas. Not good...

When was the boiler last serviced ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: