adding baseboard heater in attic

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-07, 03:42 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question adding baseboard heater in attic

I have the water pipes from a radiator traveling into a attic space from a upstairs bedroom before they travel back down to the basement.I would like to use this space and add a hydronic baseboard heater splicing into the lines.,it looks rather straight forword-one line in one line out.After turning off the boiler and adding the baseboard unit do I need to be concerned with air in the line.
Thank You
Any and all words advice welcome
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-07, 04:18 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keep in mind that you don't need to drain much water out of the system to work up there. Maybe a gallon. Put an air vent on the baseboard in the attic. I would NOT recommend an automatic vent up there. They admit air under certain conditions and that is a place where air can get in. If you do use an automatic, keep the cap tightly closed unless you are bleeding it.

Ken
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-07, 04:40 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks ken.The gallon I remove will creat a void I assume-will I need to then need to remove air from the lines and replace the amountof removed water.
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-07, 06:01 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The gallon you remove will allow you to open the pipes in the attic without spilling water. After you add the baseboard, you will need to refill the system and vent that air out of the new baseboard. Turn the system off during the work and turn off any automaitc water feed valves.

Ken
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-07, 06:57 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,175
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it worth the time to learn how to size and pipe this properly?
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-07, 07:20 PM
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 902
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb sizing

Originally Posted by Who View Post
Is it worth the time to learn how to size and pipe this properly?
Wouldn't hurt to mention how much baseboard, and where and what you're tieing into. Who and Xiphias love this stuff and might have some good tips!
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-07, 07:36 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,175
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm hoping xiph wants to do the numbers... I'll make the diagram... LOL
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-07, 09:04 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will be adding 8foot hydronic baseboard with a 3/4" copper pipe.
Thanks much.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-07, 10:28 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,175
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why 8'? What's the heatloss for that room? What temp is the supply? How do you want to control it? Why is heat even going to flow though it? That's what we'd all like to be sure of. Lots of help here if you aren't completely sure.
 
  #10  
Old 01-08-07, 04:09 AM
HVAC-EMT's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Berkshires
Posts: 165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post Heat Load

If you are unable to do it yourself, then give us the info, and someone will probbably be able to help you. What is the dimentions of the attic space (LxWxH)? How much insulation do you have in the ceiling & walls? Are there any openings to outside (windows/doors)? What is your boiler limit settings? Where are you located or what is the coldest you can expect it to get in your area (i.e. I am in Western MA & the design temp is -20 F) How many feet of baseboard element in the loop you are tying into? Is it at the beginning or end of the loop? What type of system do you have(cold start control/triple aquastat/constant circulation, single zone or multiple zones with circulators/zone valves, etc...)? What is the height from the water feeder on the boiler to the highest point in the system? If it is more than 27' 8", then you may need to boost the system pressure in order to bleed the air out. Gotta go to work! See-ya!
 
  #11  
Old 01-08-07, 07:30 AM
X
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 2,459
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What everyone else has said....

Size the radiation to the heating needs of the space. Make sure your system pressure is adequate for the additional height. Make sure you've got enough circulator oomph to accommodate the added frictional losses (although another 20-40 ft of piping plus some elbows shouldn't be too bad unless you are marginally pumped to begin with.

It's a little unclear from your description whether you are lengthening a series loop or adding a branch line. If lengthening a loop, flow calcs, etc. are easier. If adding a branch, you will need to use at least one monoflow tee and flow calcs become a bit more important.
 
  #12  
Old 01-08-07, 06:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks fo all of the advice-sorry for not giving more details first off.The hight up from the boiler is about 20' and this would be adding into a loop as far as the room size 12' x 16' and I will be insulating my attic ceiling to R25,I have 2x6 rafters and R25 in walls as well,from the calculations I have done I was thinking two 4' units would give me what I needed for BTU's and yes that would ad on approximitly 35' of 3/4" pipe the advice has been greatly appreciated.thanks again
 
  #13  
Old 01-08-07, 08:04 PM
Who's Avatar
Who
Who is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,175
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of heating system do you have? What does it use for heat emitters? How is it piped? Loops? Monoflo? Reverse return? What kind of temps do you run your boiler at? Could you sketch your piping and post it somewhere?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: