Do it Myself?

Old 01-16-07, 12:29 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do it Myself?

Some background is that i have a 900sqft house and a boiler large enough to heat my entire block. Last year alone i spent 1300 dollars on oil and its just me and i kept my house at 60 all year. So this past summer i asked two people to give me an estimate on replacement of boiler. I am guessing they don't want to do since i never got a written quote. But one did say somewhere around 4000. One question is about price. Just a general idea of cost of equipment and cost of labor. The one who did call said the new boiler was about 2000. My system was set up with a dual system but i took the hot water off the boiler to eliminate using oil in the summer.
And the next question is is this something i could do on my own. One i am a hydraulic mechanic on aircraft for 16 years, i have dabbled in plumbing and have wired many things in a house. So i guess i am saying the mechanics of the whole job does not scare me. Plus i don't want to wait two years for this to get done. So any insight, criticisms, and the such would be much appreciated. And thank you in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-07, 12:38 PM
Wink

Out of the box here. But why is it so big????? could you put in a new fire box or chamber and cut the nozzle down??

Old 01-16-07, 01:30 PM
Who
What's your heatloss?

I might say this often, but unless you do a heatloss calculation, you're making blind guesses.

My approach - do a heatloss. Then maybe play around with the heatloss calculations and see if there is any way to lower it in an economical manner (easy spot for better insulation such as ceiling etc).

Next figure out just how much oversized your current equipment is. You should be able to establish the net efficiency of your system to some degree based on your heatloss and your current consumption. How much of that $1,300 in heat goes into the house and how much goes stright up the chimney...