Beckett AFG not firing up


  #1  
Old 02-12-07, 02:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Beckett AFG not firing up

For a couple days my AFG was having a hard time firing up. Now it wont fire at all. I get a little puff of smoke and thats it. It has a new pump so I dont think its that. What should be my next step in fixing it myself? Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-07, 02:28 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

New nozzle?? New Oil filter. Check transformer. set and clean electrodes.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-07, 02:32 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Imeduc
New nozzle?? New Oil filter. Check transformer. set and clean electrodes.
I found a new nozzle but its a little different. Why is there differnet nozzles? I set the electrodes as good as I could one of them is kind of rounded its not as pointed as the other one. Perhaps that could be it. Would it be a good idea to get new ones?
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-07, 02:40 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

Nozzle has to be the same IF IT WAS THE RIGHT ONE. Is the transformer good ???Test it.

Might go http://www.freepoolheat.com/oil.html

Electrodes have to be set right. Are they good ???
 
  #5  
Old 02-12-07, 02:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
One of the electrodes looks questionable by my best guess. Is the transformer the same thing as the controls?
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-07, 02:56 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

No the transformer is there for thespark to light it. Now that is 10,000V . So know what you are doing. You better call a tech to check and set the burner up for you
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-07, 03:12 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Yeah, time to call a tech...

Don't fool with 10,000 volts if you don't know what you are doing!

When was the last time this system was looked at by a tech ?

When was the last time the oil filter was changed ?
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-07, 03:58 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
wouldnt cutting off the power to the furnace cut off the power to the transformer?
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-07, 04:58 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Yes, but what's your point?
 
  #10  
Old 02-13-07, 07:01 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by NJ Trooper
Yes, but what's your point?
Whats yours?
 
  #11  
Old 02-13-07, 02:50 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
What I meant was, what is the point of cutting off power ?
How can you test a device if the power is cut off ?
 
  #12  
Old 02-13-07, 03:36 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I got her running good. I took it apart and cleaned everything good and reset the electrodes they were a little off. It didnt start the first two times yesterday but today I tried it again and it fired right up and has been running better than ever so far. Im gonna replace the nozzle this week. thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: