Removing an old expansion tank

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-07, 06:03 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing an old expansion tank

I have a Vent-Rite VR-30 expansion tank, thats 7 years old, it's filled with water and I bought a Watts ET-30 tank to replace it. The Vent Rite is screwed into a Powervent connection that has the automatic air bleeder on the top (I'm not sure of it's name right now, but its made by Taco) The only problem is the expansion tank seems to have rusted in place. The Powervent looks like it's Brass, whats the easiest way to get this tank loose. I cannot use to much force because of all the pipes attached the the PowerVent.
Thanks
Gregory
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-07, 07:48 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Exp. Tank Removal

Does the device to which the tank is attached look like this?
http://taco-hvac.com/en/products/Vortech%26reg%3B+Air+Separator/products.html?current_category=124

or like this?
http://taco-hvac.com/en/products/Air+Scoops%26reg%3B/products.html?current_category=123

In either case, if the pipes going into & out of it are steel or at least well supported copper, you should be able to put a wrench with a cheater bar on the hex of the tank & unscrew it. If you want, you can try heating the threads with a torch.
When you install the new one, put some teflon tape or a teflon based pipe dope on the threads. To make changing very easy, install a 1/2" ball valve between the air separator & tank.
 
  #3  
Old 02-20-07, 08:55 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grady,
it's neither of those, it's 7.5 inches long with PowerVent written on it's side. The Taco Hy-vent screws into the top and the Expansion tank screws into the bottom. I'll get out the propane torch and heat it up and see if that gets it loose. I'll pick up a Ball valve tommorow and try in the morning.
Thanks
Gregory
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-07, 04:35 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
PowerVent

Sorry Greg, I searched Taco for PowerVent & got no hits. For Power Vent, I got 186 hits but none of them said anything about "PowerVent". In any case, good luck & if you have trouble, we are here & will offer the best advise we have.
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-07, 10:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Grady,
I hit with the propane torch for 40 seconds and it unscrewed easily, it then slipped out of both hands and slid onto the burner with no damage. Weighed about 35 Lbs full of water. I installed the new one, Temp about 185, pressure 29 Lbs. Thanks so much for the help.
Gregory
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-07, 08:47 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Pressure still seems too high...

What is the pressure cold ?

Did you check the air pre-charge in the new tank before you installed it ?
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-07, 08:33 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Pressure

That pressure is too high. Are you sure you are not reading the "feet" scale?
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-07, 07:44 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grady,
I checked the pressure before installing, it read 24 lbs PSI, i thought it was a little high, 12 lbs PSI being indicated as max. Should I bleed a little off.
Thanks
Gregory
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-07, 07:14 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
24#?

Are you sure this is a boiler tank & not a well tank? Pre-charge on a boiler tank should be 12#. In 20 years, I've never seen a tank over charged by more than a pound or two. Make sure it is a boiler tank & get another gauge. Something isn't right.
 
  #10  
Old 02-28-07, 08:32 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grady,
The tank is a Watts ET-30, for Hot water heating systems, it's says precharged to 12 PSI, but I checked with 2 gauges and was reading 22-24 PSI, outta the box. Very strange.
Greg
 
  #11  
Old 03-01-07, 03:21 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Tank Pressure

Hopefully you installed the valve just upstream of the tank because now it will come in very handy. Take the tank off & drop the pressure to 12# for a single story house or 15# for a two story, re-install & adjust the boiler pressure to match the tank pressure. If the pressure still goes up, let me know.
 
  #12  
Old 03-04-07, 07:13 AM
RichyRich's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somerset
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just did the same thing @ my house including dropping the damn thing right on the corner of the boiler unit, just missing the safety valve and my left foot!! Anyway, my tank is an Extrol and had 15 lbs in it, pre-filled. Do you have an air valve on yours? Just let some air out if you can. Also do you have a pressure safety valve built-in your boiler plumbing? My boiler pressure is around 20 when its cycling and slightly less when its not. Make sure the safety valve is working so the pressure can't go too high, could be dangerous...good luck..
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: