stuck valve?

Old 03-08-07, 10:04 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question stuck valve?

Hi I'm new to post here but I've been looking at back posts to troubleshoot my problem.

I have BBHW with 2 zones. I have heat on first floor no prob. 2nd floor no heat. The trouble seems to be at the zone valve for the 2nd floor. Pipes on both sides of the valve are cold. I swapped out the power heads to prove those. I thought I had it because it worked with the head from 1st floor.

I when out and bought a new power head and it worked for a bit, but now the trouble seems to be back. I have swapped around the power heads and all work on 1st floor zone. I have tested out the thermostats by swapping them around. With the head off and the thermo calling for heat, I can push the valve plunger down, but pipes do not get hot.

The zone valves are Taco 571-2.

Could the valve be stuck closed?

With no heat running through that zone could the pipes possibly be frozen?
What to look for?

Thanks

Old 03-08-07, 12:49 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Taco Zone Valve

Try checking the voltages with a voltage tester; if you don't have one, there's an excellent GE unit for $10 at Wal-Mart.

Turn up the T-stat to 80 degrees to close the contacts & clean the contacts with a white envelope.

Check the voltage on the xformer supplying the zone valves; you should get ~40V AC.; check all screw contacts for tightness, with no wire strands shorting any of the adjacent terminals.

You should get at least 24V AC between terminals 1 & 2; and also at least 24V AC between terminals 2 & 3 of the zone valve when the system is calling for heat..

Also check to see that the wiring of the zones is correct; a wiring diagram comes in the box with the power head; you can Google Taco to get a copy on the internet.

There is a common wire that goes from the transformer to #2 terminal of both zone valves; the hot side of the xformer goes to the t-stat.