Circulator Pump will NOT shut off

Old 10-30-07, 08:07 PM
O
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Circulator Pump will NOT shut off

I have a B&G circulator pump that has never shut off unless I do it from the switch. I never knew that it wasn't suppost to be like this until I started reading this forum for another issue. I am a newbie to this stuff, but have learned alot here so far. I have a Honeywell L8148E Aquastat relay, which I have no idea if it works or not. The aquastat is connected to another box(of wires) but there are no markings, looks like they connect to the aquastat circulator wires C1 and C2. I do not even know where to start with this problem, can you help??

Another problem too, my reducing value must be bad because the pressure gets over 30psi and the regulator value kicks out the water from boiler. So what I have done thus far is shut off the water to the system at about 12-15psi. Is this okay? I read somewhere that if you have a leak, only the water in the system could leak out, and not a continuous amount by having the water shut off. I read here that there is a way to manually set the reducing valve with the bottom and top nut. I was confused on this. If I should have the water on continuously, please tell me how to set that again. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE!

Old 10-30-07, 09:05 PM
NJT
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
It sounds to me as though your system has been "worked on" by inexperienced persons in the past and they've 'rigged it' whatever way they could just to get it working in some fashion.

It's hard to even think about trying to troubleshoot this one online, there are just too many variables and possibilities to deal with.

I stated in other threads that the danger to leaving the water fill valve closed is that if you do spring a leak, the boiler could be severly damaged by the low water condition, and the risk of fire is very high.