W8665A to R8222 to TACO SR503


  #1  
Old 11-26-07, 03:37 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
W8665A to R8222 to TACO SR503

Need help wiring these three devices together.
W8655A - Honeywell thermostat
R8222B - Honeywell general purpose relay
SR503 - relay mounted on my boiler

I have a 2 zone heating system but I am using the W8655A as only 1 zone.
I have a separate A/C system that does not use the W8665A.

I have a red and white lead that originates from the SR503.
I do not know what number lead(1-6) from the R8222 connects to either of these leads from the SR503.

Then I have 3 leads from the W8665A (Red, White and Common(black) that connect to the R8222B - lead numbers 1-6

Thanks for any help
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-07, 05:15 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
dj, it's unclear to me what you are trying to do ?

I'm thinking that it sounds as though you want to connect the wireless thermostat through the 8222 relay to control one of the zones on the 503 ? Is that correct ?

You need a source of 24VAC to power the 8665 ... do you have that available ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-07, 06:03 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
nj,
Yes, I have a 24vac power source from the sr503. I tried directly wiring the red from the sr503 to the R, the white from the sr503 to the W, and the common from the sr503 to the C on the W8665A. But the power LED on the W8655a did not light up.
So I searched this forum and discovered that Jay111 recommended using the R8222 relay.

Don't know what else to do ...
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-07, 06:08 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DJ,

Thanks for posting here, I was going to copy and move your PVT Msg here to share with others.

On the SR503, I pulled up a manual for it, but not being clear about it.. On the upper left hand side above the transformer, the manual says "24 VAC Power Source"

My question on that, is there two screws/tabs where may says 24v and com?

If yes, there is Hot and C, then wire the hot to R on the W8665, and C to C on W8665

Originally Posted by djritz
I have a red and white lead that originates from the SR503.
Put the Red wire on #1, white wire on #3 of the relay.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-07, 06:18 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Jay,
Yes, you are right...the 24vac hot and common tabs on the sr503 exist. I will try to wire the hot to R and the common to C.
Do I still need the R8222 relay ?
How do I wire it ?
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-07, 06:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
SR503 common

I see no "common" terminal on the SR503. Where are you trying to pick up a common? If you don't have installation manuals for the controls, here are links to them:
http://customer.honeywell.com/honeyw...spx/R8222B1067

http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/69-1630.pdf

http://www.taco-hvac.com/uploads/Fil...503102-083.pdf

I also don't understand why you need the 8222. Maybe because I don't fully understand what you are trying to do.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-07, 06:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by djritz
Jay,

Do I still need the R8222 relay ?
How do I wire it ?
Yes, Put the W/Red wire from W8665 to one of the coil side of the R8222. White/c wire from W8665 to the other coil of R8222.

Then from the SR503.

Put the Red wire on #1, white wire on #3 of the relay.
 
  #8  
Old 11-26-07, 06:42 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Grady

I also don't understand why you need the 8222. Maybe because I don't fully understand what you are trying to do.
You know what, Grady got me thinking here again....

DJ, Do you have a meter? Grady may be right, we may not need the relay.
 
  #9  
Old 11-26-07, 06:55 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I think you do need the relay. I'm not sure whether or not the contacts on the 8665 are 'dry contacts', and I actually don't think they are. That stat appears to switch 24VAC to the three outputs, one for cool, one for heat, and one for fan. The installation of the 8665 shows relays...

In fact, I'd be hesitant to steal the power from the 503... why not just use a small external transformer ?

Using the 8222 relay will provide the dry contact required for the 503 ...

Look at it this way... it's cheap insurance, and it can't hurt. Don't use it and risk ruining a pretty expensive t'stat ! and/or the 503 too!
 
  #10  
Old 11-26-07, 06:59 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NJ and Jay,

Thanks all... I will try this configuration this weekend and I will post back here with the status.
I really appreciate all your help.
Dave
 
  #11  
Old 11-26-07, 07:03 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NJ is right... Keep the relay!

wire it up as I stated before. If you want me to draw it up, I can.

NJ, the 503 got it's own transformer, so should have plenty of power to run the 8665.
 
  #12  
Old 11-26-07, 07:13 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J
NJ, the 503 got it's own transformer, so should have plenty of power to run the 8665.

I think so too... funny thing is, none of the install sheets on the website show any use of the "24 V POWER" terminals.

This one has diagrams of all the products:
Zone control wiring guide

I'm sure there is a way to wire it up without the relay, but without being able to handle the stuff and put a meter on it, etc, it's difficult to be certain over the internet!
 
  #13  
Old 11-26-07, 07:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Jay,

If you could draw it up, I work better with pictures....thanks again...
 
  #14  
Old 11-26-07, 07:22 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by djritz
Jay,

If you could draw it up, I work better with pictures....thanks again...
Ok, Will do!

NJ,

Yeah, that's why I asked him to be sure if there is 24 and C on the 503, and he said yes.
 
  #15  
Old 11-26-07, 07:37 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
I'm hardheaded

Can somebody explain to me why this would not work: R from 503 to R on stat; common from 503 to C on stat; W from 503 to W on stat.

When R-W closes on stat during a call for heat, power goes back thru R to W on 503 causing X1-X2 (dry contacts) to close. The closure of X1-X2 closes T-T on the aquastat.

What am I missing?
 
  #16  
Old 11-26-07, 07:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Grady,

The way I see it on my end, W from the 8665 needs to go to a "load". (coil on the 8222 is a load)

Where on the 503's zone (say Zone1) goes to a thermostat. (A switch)
 
  #17  
Old 11-26-07, 07:46 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I don't see R, C, or W on the 503 ?

by R you mean the aux 24V hot
and C you mean the aux 24V common

but W ? the 503 has ZONE1 ZONE2 ZONE3 ...

you lookin' at the 501 ?
 
  #18  
Old 11-26-07, 07:51 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
503

Each of the pairs of zone terminals is an R & W (although not marked as such)

The C would be the Aux. 24v common.

I'd have to meter it to be positive but so I believe. I'd bet if you checked from 24v to one side of each pair you'd get nothing (same circuit) & from 24v to the other side, you'd get 24v.
 
  #19  
Old 11-26-07, 08:02 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I just drew out what Grady just said...

Yes, that would work, near as I can tell.

One of the ZONE terminals is internally wired to 24VAC HOT, or R ...

The other ZONE terminal goes to one side of the relay coil in the 503 for that particular zone, or W . The other side of that relay coil goes internally to 24VAC Neut...

So, if dj metered from the aux Common terminal to each of the ZONE inputs, one would be 24VAC, and that's the one to wire to the R on the stat...

The other one would go to W on the stat...

and the C goes to the C ...

that's what yer saying Grady ?
 
  #20  
Old 11-26-07, 08:13 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Trooper

Yassir, that's zackly what I'm saying.
 
  #21  
Old 11-26-07, 08:25 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think I can see where you are coming from....

So DJ needs to find the "W" side on his Zone section. (Only one wire goes to Zone from 8655's R vs 2 wires)
 
  #22  
Old 11-26-07, 08:38 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Right... 3 wires total ...

First he should meter and label with a marker the R and W, if not already marked on the 503 ...

With 503 powered up, measure from the aux 24 common to each ZONE terminal. Label the one that reads 24 VAC as R.

Label the other as W.

R to R , W to W , C to C ...
 
  #23  
Old 11-26-07, 08:44 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Sounds too easy

Originally Posted by NJ Trooper
Right... 3 wires total ...

First he should meter and label with a marker the R and W, if not already marked on the 503 ...

With 503 powered up, measure from the aux 24 common to each ZONE terminal. Label the one that reads 24 VAC as R.

Label the other as W.

R to R , W to W , C to C ...
That's what I'm thinking. Sounds almost too easy to be true. On the old 50x's, don't know about now, I think the zone terminals were marked R & W.
 
  #24  
Old 11-26-07, 08:51 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
The 501 still is ...
 
  #25  
Old 11-27-07, 06:15 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I actually have a meter and when I first started to unravel this mystery I sent an email to the tech lead at TACO in order to find the common.
I then attached the meter to the common on the 503 and to the RED terminal (which is where my current wired t-stat's red is bolted). I read 24VAC on the RED and then just hooked the Red to the R on the W8665A, White to W and common to C on the W8665A. I thought this would work, but the power LED on the W8665A did not light up. The remote temperature unit(T8665A) was calling for heat and so when I saw the led on the 503 light up, I thought it was working. But then I reset the remote unit so it would not call for heat and expected the led on the 503 to turn off. But the led did not turn off on the 503.
So then I did not know what to do and that is when I started to look for help.
 
  #26  
Old 11-27-07, 02:40 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Bad 8665 ?

dj, you might wanna just hook up the 24VAC and common, and see if the power LED comes on. I suppose it's possible you got a bum 8665 on yer hands ?
 
  #27  
Old 11-27-07, 02:44 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Just curious

Did you also check common to white?
I don't know why it wouldn't work. As far as I can tell, the only reason for the relay is to isolate the two transformers. That is the one supplying power to the W8665 & the one on the aquastat. Since the X1 & X2 terminals on the 503 are dry contacts, they become the isolation. The only thing I can think of is maybe the transformer on the 503 may not be heavy enough but why would it continue to show a call for heat???? I'm stumped.
 
  #28  
Old 12-02-07, 03:19 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well...I don't know what changed but now I do not get 24 vac from either of marked 24vac tabs on the 503. I do get 24vac between the white and red on the zone 2 terminals from the 503.

So I thought I would try and hook up the 8222. White from 503 to #3 relay, Red from 503 to #1 relay, then W from the 8665 to on side of the 8222 coil and R from W8665 to the other side of the 8222 coil.
But I have not ever got the power led to light on the W8665.
I am ready to call a contractor and see if they can figure it out.

Thanks for all your help

Dave
 
  #29  
Old 12-02-07, 03:58 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Transformer

If you happen to have another transformer, known to be good, you could wire it directly to the 8665 just to see if you get a power light. Maybe the 8665 is bad???

In any case, once you find out what's going on, please post back & let us know. Hopefully we can all learn something.
 
  #30  
Old 12-05-07, 08:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I hired a contractor and he had to add a 110 to 24vac transformer to the configuration in order to get the W8665A to power up.
It works now....thanks for your help

dave
 
  #31  
Old 12-05-07, 08:35 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Transformer

Probably too much of a load on the small transformer in the SR503. Thanks for the update.
 
  #32  
Old 12-06-07, 12:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
continuous voltage

Actually, the problem with the SR503 was that the 24vac was not on all the time. So an outside transformer was the only solution.

 
  #33  
Old 12-06-07, 04:15 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Under what conditions is the auxiliary 24VAC _NOT_ on ?

Perhaps during a priority call for an indirect water heater ?

I could understand that IF you were getting the 24VAC from the R terminal on the zone, as we suggested, but would it matter then if the 8665 were powered down during a priority call ? Not sure it would ... settings memory is all in the transmitter end I think.
 
  #34  
Old 12-06-07, 04:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Sr503

Must get it's power from Zr/Zc on the aquastat.
 
  #35  
Old 12-06-07, 04:22 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I can't understand why Taco doesn't publish the schematic... I've got half a mind (quiet wise guys!) to purchase one and reverse engineer it and publish the schematic myself ...

Anyone have a schematic of the SR5xx series of panels ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: