System Layout/Modifications

Old 12-03-07, 12:11 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
System Layout/Modifications

Hi all-

This is my first post as I’m new to hydronic heating. We recently purchased a 3200 sq. foot 1920s 2-story home with a converted gravity system (now closed). The boiler is approximately 10 years old and has been able to keep the house at 68 degrees (Milwaukee, WI temps), but the boiler rarely got above 110 – 130 degrees (cold starts & takes awhile to get hot). I recently added a simple bypass loop with ball valve to get the boiler temps up and would appreciate any suggestions if minor modifications to the piping/setup would be beneficial. With our current weather (30 degrees), the boiler still has never reached the 180 degree high set point. My biggest priority is fuel savings and boiler life.

Current Setup (See picture):
Utica MGB Series 175,000 BTU Boiler (84.1% Efficiency)
TACO 007-F4 Circulator – ON RETURN SIDE
Effikal Auto Damper
Honeywell L8148E Auquastat – (Soon to be Tekmar Outdoor Reset)
B&G Flo Control Val – Part of the conversion??
Old B&G 18-Gallon Expansion Tank
B&G Pressure Reducing Fill Valve

What would you do if this was your setup? Are there any changes that would help reduce fuel costs (i.e. move and/or different circulator on supply side, better bypass loop, exp tank, etc.)? Thanks!

Last edited by jborders5; 12-03-07 at 12:58 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 12-03-07, 12:33 PM
X
1) can you post some pictures of the rest of the basement piping?

2) what's the building heat loss, what kind of radiation do you have (standing cast iron rads, I assume), and what is it's output at various supply water temperatures relative to your design heat loss?

3) how deep do you want to get into this?

2 and 3 would help inform some suggestions on how you might improve efficiency and comfort within your budget and skills.

Old 12-03-07, 12:56 PM
J