Carrier boiler "clicking"

Old 02-21-08, 03:39 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier boiler "clicking"

Hello,
I have a Carrier series PW83 hot water boiler, most likely installed in 1967 when the house was new. We've owned the home for 8 years, and no problems. Last night, I heard loud clicking noises, and after tracking it down, it was the boiler. After waiting for it to happen again, I caught it. The ignition pilot module would click loudly a few times, I would hear the "whoof" of the main burner lighting off. The burner would stay lit for a minute or two, apparently go out, and the whole cycle repeated itself. The boiler then began working fine, and has worked fine since. I know as soon as I leave it go, it'll stop for good some night when I'm out of town.
I am an electrician & carpenter, but not a HVAC troubleshooter. I can identify parts and know how a boiler works overall. I am thinking that I am going to clean the flame sensor, check for proper voltages at the gas valve, and check wiring connections (typical sparky stuff). I have a hunch that my Pilot ignition module (honeywell S8600F) is going, but isn't quite gone yet. I'm not sure how to confirm my hunch with everything working OK now. If I decide to replace it, is there any other parts that should be replaced with it as a matter of good practice? Any input would be appreciated, and thanks in advance for your help!

Aaron

Sponsored Links
Old 02-22-08, 08:56 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
mitchellbd

if you have a model S8600F intermit pilot control on a 1967 boiler it must be a conversion from an old standing pilot system. The old standing pilots where replaced with Q345A (nat. or propane) pilot burner igniter-sensor combination.
It has i spark plug type wire from it to your burner control. It not only sparks and lites the pilot but has a sensor to prove that a pilot is lit.