High Voltage Thermostat switch to Low Voltage Thermostat w/water baseboard heat?

Old 03-01-08, 05:58 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation High Voltage Thermostat switch to Low Voltage Thermostat w/water baseboard heat?

Hello All,

Thanks for the help in advance. I currently have three zones in my house for hot water baseboard heating. 2 of the three are already low voltage thermostats. The last one is a high voltage (which I didn't realize till I went to replace the thermostat). I traced it back to a older Honeywell relay that controls the pump.

My question is how can I switch this to a low voltage thermostat? I thought the best way would be to replace the relay box (I am not sure if thats the proper term).

I already ran a low voltage wire from the relay box to where I want to put the new low voltage thermostat. (ran two actually, because one will control a central air unit that will be going in once we have some $$)

Any and all help is appreciated. This is my first time posting on this forum, but I maintain an active blog about my house activities / renovation here if you interested: http://burm.net

Also, just curious on the Relay the Brown wire is going to the actual boiler, what does that wire do / tell the boiler? Does it tell it to fire up?

Thermostat:

Relay thing:

Thank you,
- John
Http://Burm.net - My Renovation Blog

Last edited by burmjohn; 03-01-08 at 06:04 AM. Reason: fix spelling
Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-08, 06:05 AM
Thermostat replacement

Sounds like you have a master/slave thermostat setup did the other stats have anything to do with the pump and boiler or do they just open and close valves?

Old 03-01-08, 06:14 AM
Originally Posted by mike n View Post
Sounds like you have a master/slave thermostat setup did the other stats have anything to do with the pump and boiler or do they just open and close valves?
How can I check? Should I take a pic of the other thermostat relays?

Thanks

Old 03-01-08, 06:29 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts