Honeywell Aquastat issue

Old 03-29-08, 09:06 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell Aquastat issue

I have a 2 zone utica gas boiler. When I turn the thermostat it does not turn on the burners. When I opened the Honeywell Aquastat Relay L8148e 1257 and push in one of the relays with my finger it starts the boiler and heats up. When I Let my finger off of the relay it shuts off the burners. Please help me in figuring out my problem. I'm not sure if I could just replace the relay or if I have to replace the Honeywell Aquastat Relay L8148e 1257. Excuse me if I'm not making much sense But I'm new to this. I'm Learning as I go.
Thanks
Frank

Old 03-30-08, 08:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
L8148e

Does the circulator(s) run when either thermostat calls for heat? Do you have a circulator for each zone or two zone valves with one circulator? If zone valves, do they open?
Pictures of the boiler & nearby piping, including any controls, would be helpful. You can post them on photobucket.com or similar photo sharing site & provide a link here.

Old 03-30-08, 09:49 AM
T
L8148e

Hi Grady
I have 2 zones with one curculater and it does open when I call for heat. I will look into posting pictures on that website Thanks.

Old 03-30-08, 10:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Circulator

If the circulator comes on with a call for heat from either zone, any components upstream of the aquastat can be eliminated as a source of trouble.
Is there an electrically operated vent damper & if so, does it open?

Old 03-30-08, 10:30 AM
T
L8148e

Yes the vent damper does open and close properly.
I posted some pictures on photobucket.com
http://s300.photobucket.com/albums/nn26/techman69/

Last edited by techman69; 03-30-08 at 11:00 AM.
Old 03-30-08, 12:28 PM
Received 66 Upvotes on 55 Posts