White Rodgers zone valve wiring


  #1  
Old 07-28-08, 07:24 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question White Rodgers zone valve wiring

I'm replacing a basic round Honeywell HEATING ONLY t'stat (without any switches) for a hot water system with a programmable digital to save energy. The White Rogers zone valves have three wires, white red and green. Is the wiring straight forward at the new thermostat end? Thanks Nick
 
  #2  
Old 07-28-08, 07:49 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Nick, there are probably just two wires at the thermostat end... likely a white and a red ... as far as the t'stat goes, shouldn't make any difference what zone valves are used ...

Have you removed the old t'stat yet for to take a look ?
I'm pretty sure that's what you'll find.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-08, 08:41 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
It's quite possible that your White-Rodgers zone valves require three-wire (SPDT) thermostats for operation. W-R made several such zone valves and they require the thermostat to close red to white to open the valve on a coll for heat and then to open the red/white connection and close red to the other color (in this case green) to close the valve.

If this is the valve you have then it will require a SPDT relay (with 24 volt AC coil) to be connected between the two-wire thermostat and the three wire valve.

Post back if you need more information.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-08, 07:46 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furd T'stat Ideas

Furd,
It is a 3wire White Rodgers zone valve #1311-102. There are three wires, red, white and green. The old t'stat had red-to-red, white-to-white and the green wire attached to the Y terminal on a Honeywell series 20 t'stat. It had no control switches.
Would you recommend a specific replacement or can I just pick one up at Home Depot that is a (SPDT) . The goal here is to replace the old analog with a digital so that I can program it for energy savings. Thanks. Nick (phone # removed for personal security reasons, PM Nick if you want his number)
 

Last edited by NJT; 07-30-08 at 03:33 PM.
  #5  
Old 07-30-08, 01:50 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Sorry, but I cannot recommend any particular thermostat. I doubt that you will find a suitable SPDT thermostat at any retail store so the easiest way to make a SPST thermostat work with these zone valves is to use an intervening relay.

You would need a relay with a 24 volt ac coil and SPDT (or DPDT) contacts to actuate the valve. One relay that would work is a Potter & Brumfield model KRPA 11AG-24. You would also need the socket for this relay which is part number BDS08SS. These are common and readily available from several mail-order sources or from industrial electrical/electronic distributors in major cities. I give these examples of P&B only because I am quite familiar with the products. There are several competing products and any one of them would work just fine as long as you have the 24 volt AC coil and a minimum of SPDT switching.

The thermostat ends up switching the relay coil and the relay contacts will operate the zone valve. NJ Trooper can probably make a wiring diagram better than I.

Here is the instruction sheet for the W-R zone valve:

http://www.partsguy.com/pdf/1311troublshoot.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-08, 05:34 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
While you can wire up a relay as furd suggested, I looked at the Honeywell VisionPro ($$$) and FocusPro ($) thermostats and found that they are useable with three wire power open/close zone valves.

It's probably worth the extra bucks to pick up a t'stat that can do what you want without the extra work (and cost) of adding a relay... you'll probably break even in the long run.

On both the VisionPro series 8000 and the FocusPro series 6000 t'stats, you would set the SYSTEM TYPE (FUNCTION 1) to #2 and wire as shown. They don't show the W-R valves though, only their own series 20 valves (which are also power open/close), so you would have to be careful which wires connected to which...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: