Boiler Installation Questions

Old 07-31-08, 04:17 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler Installation Questions

Hello,

I'm about to replace a 30 year old boiler in my house with a new Munchkin 140M and am excited to find your site. I have limited experience with hydronic heating but the Munchkin installation manual is detailed and I plan to follow it to the letter. I'm hopeful someone might be able to answer some basic questions:

#1 My old system circulated a weak glycol solution. Do I need to run a cleaner through all the piping or will a good flush with water suffice? Everything I'm not replacing is copper --pipes and registers.

#2 Munchkin recommends a primary/secondary hydronic loop and I'm going to zone with 4 valves and install 2 circulators. Their piping schematic is confusing me. The return line from each zone looks like it tees into 2 places --it tees back into the line where it began and again into the suction line returning to the boiler. Page 19 of the installation manual (drawing 2a)

http://www.gasappliancesales.com/fil...nual_Rev_2.pdf

Am I misreading the drawing or is this the correct way to do it?

Many thanks for all the help.

Tom

Sponsored Links
Old 07-31-08, 07:38 PM
X
First, how did you arrive at 140 as the proper size? That's a honking big boiler for most residential applications.

#1. A fresh water flush should be fine. If you need to still run glycol for freeze protection, there are wye fittings, etc. that you should add to the system to make the addition of glycol simple.

#2. That link didn't open for me (pdf shows as damaged and won't open), so I'm looking at 2A here:

http://www.htproducts.com/literature/lp-61.pdf