Installing Mod-con boilers before weatherizing

Old 09-02-08, 01:09 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Mod-con boilers before weatherizing

I have a brick 3 unit I need to get heat into for the tenants before they need it. I'm considering natural gas modulating condensing boilers to give the tenants the best efficiency. I can separate the bills this way too and hopefully using mod-cons will be an easier install for me since I need three. My concern is sizing. Since I don't have time to weatherize before install; how do I calculate correctly? Do I run 2 calculations; one before and one after? The updates will be mostly attic insulation and storm/replacement windows. I downloaded the Slant-Fin softwear and will work on that today. I'm a plumber/electrician but not a boiler expert. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks; Billy

Old 09-02-08, 02:56 PM
F
Received 37 Upvotes on 29 Posts
Yes, you do the heat loss calculation using the existing conditions and then change those variables that you will upgrade to what they will be after the upgrade. You then size the boiler so that the highest output is close, but does not exceed the current heat loss calculation while the lowest output of the boiler is still less than the heat loss after the improvements are made.

Be sure not to oversize the boilers because there is already a "fudge factor" built in to the heat loss calculation. Try to get the closest numbers you can for air infiltration and actual outside temperatures at the building rather than using approximate temperatures for the general area.

Old 09-02-08, 06:13 PM
B
Not sure of my calculations?