High Pressure NEED HELP

Old 10-08-08, 09:32 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
High Pressure NEED HELP

Hi! I am new to this posting thing and know little to nothing about boilers, so hopefully one of you guys can give me a hand. I have a gas-fired cast iron Slant/Fin boiler. I also have an expansion tank with a TACO fill valve. When we bought our house 2 years ago the previous owner installed this unit so it is approx. 2 years old. My wife's cousin is a plumber (who can also be a scammer) came over when we fired it up for the first time this season. He informed me that the psi on the boiler was going way to high. He said it should be around 12-20 when it is firing. I had the heat up all the way for approx 1 hour and the psi was up around 30. I shut it off when it approached 30 as he said that is way too high. He then had me turn the water off that goes into the fill valve and then the tank and had me run the bioler for about an hour. When we did this the max psi got up to about 22. He claims that the problem, for sure, is my fill valve. I have read alot of these posts and I am starting to think it could also be my expansion tank. He had me buy the new fill valve and wants 225 bucks to put the new one on. I want to know if this is definately the problem or not and how do i know if replacing the fill valve will stop the problem. He also told me I could run the bioler without the water being on to the tank. The house heats up fine buit I am worried that I may be doing more harm to it. Could someone help me out please!!!!1

Old 10-08-08, 12:36 PM
Hello, and welcome to DIY forums.