Air In Hot Water Baseboard System

Old 10-28-08, 05:32 AM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Air In Hot Water Baseboard System

Hi guys, I've been reading thorugh the forums ever since I bought a home in August and it's a very helpful site. I am new to EVERYTHING about a home since this is my first home and I never did any work on anything around a house before. I am very mechanically inclined though. Here is the issue: I have a gas fired boiler (It's a Burnham Series 2 Boiler, pretty sure it is the original one from 50 years ago). I don't know all of the terminology for heating/plumbing but I will try to explain my system starting from the cold water feed. The cold water feed goes through an auto-feed/pressure regulator which ties into the RETURN pipe. The circulator is installed at the return right before it goes into the boiler. On the back of the boiler there is a pipe going up with a relief valve and then it goes up to a steel tank (expansion tank? holding tank?). The supply comes out of the boiler and then it splits. The first split goes up to the second floor and loops around the perimeter and comes back down to what I will call RETURN #1. The second split goes out and SPLITS AGAIN. One split heats half the kitchen, the bathroom, one bedroom and then goes into what I will call RETURN #2 (both returns join up and become one). The other split heats up the other half of the kitchen, the living room, then it comes down and heats the basement, then it comes back up to to heat the other bedroom and then returns at RETURN #1 (the upstairs return is connected with a T at RETURN #1). I am not a plumber/HVAC tech, system designer, or anything along those lines, but this system is laid out very weird to say the least. Sorry for the long explanation, my problem is that I have air in the system and it's driving me nuts. There is an air bleeder valve at every baseboard in the house at at many other high points in the system (GOOD THING). I let all of the air out at