Boiler problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-20-08, 08:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler problem

I have a slant fin boiler with 3 zones. When the thermostat calls for heat, the boiler will fire normally and the circulator comes on. When the boiler reaches its high limit the flame goes out the damper closes and the circultor pump goes off as well even though the thermostat is calling for heat. The pump should remain on. I replaced the honeywell l8148e aquastat with a new l8148j and now when the themostat call for heat the pump runs but the boiler wont fire nor will the damper open. It is wired correctly. ANy ideas would be greatly appreciated..........thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-21-08, 03:12 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
replaced the honeywell l8148e aquastat with a new l8148j
Howdja do that ? What did you do with the damper wiring ?

You should have replaced the E with the E ...
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-08, 04:11 PM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with trooper, and why would you want a fixed setpoint?

You would have been better getting us close up photos of the wiring, then we could try to see if it is wired incorrectly.
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-08, 06:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
boiler

The particular E model i had was supeceded to a new part number, the j model. I had to put the old one back as I never did get the boiler to fire. So my ? is when the boiler hits its high limit and the flame goes out, why does the circulator turn off, even though the thermostat is still calling for heat. Is there a way to check if the problem is the aquastat or the circulator? (grundfos circ pump)Thanks in advance for any advice
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-08, 06:33 PM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am more familiar with taco circs, but tell me how your circs are wired?
Do you have separate zone controls or 1 control for all 3, and what are they?
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-08, 10:00 PM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On the side of a L8148J control, there is a override switch. What position is it in?
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-08, 08:00 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Mark, 'override' as in AUTO/MAN ?

Aquaman, what jumpers are installed between the terminals of the new aquastat ?

You said "particular model" ... which particular model was that ? and what is the full model # of the J that you installed ?
 
  #8  
Old 11-22-08, 08:06 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I just noticed that you put the original one back in ...

The circulator is not the problem. That's only gonna run when it's 'told' to run ... and the fact that it does run means it's OK.

I asked earlier what the full model of the E is that you have, and that will still be helpful to know.

Can you take pictures ? close-ups of the aquastat so that we can see the wiring ?

What terminals are the black and white wires from the circulator connected to ?
 
  #9  
Old 11-22-08, 09:38 AM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes Trooper, that is what I meant about the override.
 
  #10  
Old 11-23-08, 04:34 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
boiler problem

Sorry about the delay. The new aquastat is a L 8148 J 1009. The old one is a L 8148 E 1273. The switch on the new one was set to Auto. ( I tried manual as well but that wouldn't fire the boiler either) There are 3 honeywell 8043 zone valves on the system with one transformer. The black and white wires from the circulator are wired to c1 and c2 on the aquastat. Are there to many valves on 1 transformer for the new aquastat?
 
  #11  
Old 11-23-08, 06:45 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Are there to many valves on 1 transformer for the new aquastat?
That's very possible... if the old system used the internal transformer ... which I believe could do 3 zone valves ... but I doubt that the J has that ability ...

Isn't the transformer in the old one about 3 times the size in the new one ?

You might have to add an external transformer then...

but it still doesn't explain the odd behaviour of the circ pump ...

[thinking]
 
  #12  
Old 11-24-08, 09:44 PM
L
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try disconnecting the wiring on 2 of the zone valves and see what happens when you run just 1 zone valve.
 
  #13  
Old 11-24-08, 10:02 PM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I am not mistaken, a 40va transformer will handle up to 3 taco zone valves, after that you either need to add another transformer, or go with a larger size, such as a 50va.

Just fir info, terminals 1 & 2 power the zone valve and 2 & 3 are the end switcj to open or close causing the burner to start and stop as required by the burner control.

BTW are you using multiple circulators or 1 circ, with multiple zone valves?
 
  #14  
Old 11-25-08, 03:15 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
The J model can power two 8043s ... so perhaps that's why you had a problem ... but only if all three called at once ... so if you left 2 t'stats down, and only opened one valve, I would think it should have worked.

From an earlier post...

What did you do with the damper wiring ?
How was the damper wired in with the J A'stat ?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: